By using this site, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our Terms of Use. Close
Digital Foundry Releases Tech Review of Halo Infinite Campaign

Digital Foundry Releases Tech Review of Halo Infinite Campaign - News

by William D'Angelo , posted on 06 December 2021 / 1,286 Views

Digital Foundry has released its tech review of the campaign for Halo Infinite. In the review, Digital Foundry takes a look at the first-person shooter running on the Xbox Series X and S.

"Halo Infinite's campaign can finally be fully revealed and the news is good," said Digital Foundry. "343's take on the open world is great, combat is the best it's been in years and audio is sublime. Problems in the tech department take off some of the sheen, but 343 tell us that key issues are already being fixed for a post-launch patch. And ultimately, even as it stands, the developers have delivered one of the best first-person shooters of the last decade."

View the tech review below:

343 Industries released the free-to-play multiplayer for Halo Infinite early on November 15 to celebrate the 20th anniversary of Xbox and Halo: Combat Evolved.

Halo Infinite campaign will release this Wednesday, December 8. We do know the campaign file size 28 GB and has 14 main missions.


A life-long and avid gamer, William D'Angelo was first introduced to VGChartz in 2007. After years of supporting the site, he was brought on in 2010 as a junior analyst, working his way up to lead analyst in 2012. He has expanded his involvement in the gaming community by producing content on his own YouTube channel and Twitch channel dedicated to gaming Let's Plays and tutorials. You can contact the author at wdangelo@vgchartz.com or on Twitter @TrunksWD.


More Articles

11 Comments
VAMatt (on 06 December 2021)

Sounds like a very good game. Exactly what the Halo franchise needed.

  • +9
Azzanation (on 06 December 2021)

Game looks great and DF saying its one of the best FPS released is a great pat on the back for 343.

  • +3
AkimboCurly (on 06 December 2021)

Is the claim that it only has one biome (not including the 'indoor' missions) referring to the first 4 missions, or to the entire campaign?

I assume(d) the sand biome from the multiplayer would make an appearance

  • 0
shikamaru317 AkimboCurly (on 06 December 2021)

I hear there are 2 for the whole campaign, the Pacific Northwest/Alpine biome we have seen in the marketing materials so far, and a War-torn one which is basically just desolate land where there was heavy conflict in the previous battles 6 months before the game is set. Desert, Snow, Forest, Beach, Volcanic, etc. are all missing, even though 3 of the 5 of those were in the initial Slipspace Engine reveal trailer for Halo Infinite.

It's a real shame, the lack of environments. I reckon since it's a GaaS game and they have 10 years of singleplayer and multiplayer support planned, we will eventually get more biomes in later campaign expansions, I hear the ending of the campaign is pretty open ended to allow for expansions, one of the reviews mentioned it.

  • +3
Dulfite shikamaru317 (on 06 December 2021)

We really should not view this as Halo 6, but rather Halo 6, 7, and 8. I don't think the stories that they will add will be small DLC ones but rather like an MMO's expansion packs, and I suspect the engine will be updated significantly over the same time span just like an MMOS would to keep the visuals improving.

  • +3
mjk45 Dulfite (on 06 December 2021)

So Halo destiny then.

  • +4
VAMatt mjk45 (on 07 December 2021)

I would say that comparing a game to Destiny is a great compliment at this point. For as much as people love to complain about Destiny, it has been going for 7 years now, and still has a huge, dedicated player base.

  • +4
mjk45 VAMatt (on 07 December 2021)

I played the hell out of destiny for a number of years great game before it got to be to much

  • 0
scrapking Dulfite (on 08 December 2021)

It will be interesting to see if all of that 10 years of campaign content also comes to Xbox One natively. After all they have an alternative, bring it to Xbox One through game streaming.

And I don't just mean making people sign up for Game Pass Ultimate, they could allow one-off game streaming to Xbox One for new content for purchased titles, if new content shows up as a module in the game that triggers an Xblade server to stream it to the console rather than give the user the option to download it to the console.

  • 0
AkimboCurly scrapking (on 08 December 2021)

I really suspect not. Not natively at any rate

  • 0
Mr Puggsly (on 07 December 2021)

In short, DF seems to really enjoy the game. BUT, the game has some visual issues. Seems to have visual downgrades, some animations are only doing 30 fps, etc. Some of this is expected to be fixed via patches. Either way, this could be the release that says Halo is actually in good hands as previous 343 campaigns left a lot to be desired.

  • -2