PSN Getting Name Changes, Coming to PlayStation Preview Program Soon

PSN Getting Name Changes, Coming to PlayStation Preview Program Soon - News

by William D'Angelo , posted on 10 October 2018 / 1,225 Views

Sony Interactive Entertainment announced that the ability to change your PlayStation Network Online ID will begin testing soon for those in the PlayStation Preview Program.

During the PlayStation Preview Program you will be able to change your online ID as many times as you want. The first change is free, while after that it will cost $9.99. For PlayStation Plus members, it will cost $4.99 after the first change. 


"When you change your online ID, you will have the option to display your previous ID with your new ID, so your friends can recognize you," reads the blog post. "Once you decide to display your old ID or not, you won’t be able to adjust this after completing the online ID change process.

"This feature is compatible with PS4 games originally published after April 1, 2018, and a large majority of the most-played PS4 games that were released before this date. However, please note not all games and applications for PS4, PS3 and PS Vita systems are guaranteed to support the online ID change, and users may occasionally encounter issues or errors in certain games.

"If for any reason you experience issues after changing your ID, you can revert back to your original ID for free at any time (you will only be able to revert once during the preview program). Reverting back to an old ID will resolve most issues caused by the ID change. In addition, when this feature officially launches, a list of compatible games published before April 1, 2018, will be provided on PlayStation.com for reference before you make a change.

"The preview program for this feature is scheduled to conclude at the end of November 2018. The full rollout of the feature to all PS4 owners is planned for early 2019, so stay tuned for updates down the road!"


 A life-long and avid gamer, William D'Angelo was first introduced to VGChartz in 2007. After years of supporting the site, he was brought on in 2010 as a junior analyst, working his way up to lead analyst in 2012. He has expanded his involvement in the gaming community by producing content on his own YouTube channel and Twitch channel dedicated to gaming Let's Plays and tutorials. You can contact the author at wdangelo@vgchartz.com or on Twitter @TrunksWD.


More Articles

4 Comments

TallSilhouette (on 10 October 2018)

F I N A L L Y


Replicant (on 10 October 2018)

Nice! As I wrote in another thread, only 6 of the 25 most requested features are now left.


Replicant (on 10 October 2018)

1. Ability to change User ID (will be added early 2019)
2. PS Now: Ability to fully purchase streamable games
3. PS Now: Ability to download games (added in 2018)
4. Convert PSN Sub Account to Master Account (added in 2015)
5. Enhance PS4 video support (added in 2015)
6. PS4 notifications for friends sign-on/offs (added in 3.50)
7. PS4 digital and physical backwards compatibility with PS1, PS2 and PS3
8. Delete trophies with 0% (added in 2.50)
9. PS4 Trophy tracking
10. Display total time spent playing
11. PS4 game gifting and wishlisting
12. PS4 YouTube app (added in 2.00)
13. PS4: Pause and prioritize downloads (added in 2.00)
14. Ability to appear offline (added in 3.50)
15. Offline Trophies on PS4 (added in 4.00)
16. 3D Blu-ray support on PS4 (added in 1.75)
17. Option to sort PS4 games into folders (added in 4.00)
18. Ability to clean up download list (added in 5.50)
19. DLNA support (added in 2015)
20. Sync trophies in background on each unlock
21. PS4 external HDD support (added in 4.50)
22. Custom themes for PS4 (added in 2.00)
23. DualShock 4 official PC driver (added in 2017)
24. Spotify app for PS4 (added in 2015)
25. PS4 MP3 support (added in 2.00)


  • +1
ResilientFighter (6 days ago)

i need them to allow deleting a game totally that is 0% it wont show on others view of my account. but i see the game in my game list :(


  • 0
DialgaMarine (6 days ago)

I definitely have to give props to MS for their achievements system features, and definitely want to see Sony really revamp Trophies so that we can track our progress from the trophy screen, as well as have them sync instantly.


  • 0
COKTOE (6 days ago)

Holy moly. That's a hell of a list. I though you were joking until I clicked on the replies.


  • 0
DialgaMarine (6 days ago)

I'm still very much satisfied with my PSN ID. Glad to see Sony bringing for those that want it, but I seriously doubt I'll ever use it.


Comments below voting threshold

Zkuq (on 10 October 2018)

Sounds like quite a few limitations. Sounds like some poor choices were done at some point. Still, good news!


Tridrakious (on 10 October 2018)

Since all of this started with PS3, it's very likely that has caused plenty of hurdles to jump over. At least it is officially coming and all future games (including PS5) will have this.


  • +3
DialgaMarine (6 days ago)

Better than nothing, especially since it's been the most requested feature for several years now.


  • +2