By using this site, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our Terms of Use. Close
×

America - Front

America - Back

Review Scores

VGChartz Score
9.5
                         

Ratings

     

Alternative Names

マスエフェクト2

Developer

BioWare Edmonton

Genre

Role-Playing

Other Versions

PC, PS3, PSN

Release Dates

01/26/10 Electronic Arts
01/13/11 Microsoft
01/29/10 Electronic Arts

Community Stats

Owners: 1,219
Favorite: 118
Tracked: 22
Wishlist: 49
Now Playing: 36
 
9

Avg Community Rating:

 

Mass Effect 2 Review

15th Feb 2010 | 1,658 views 


flyboy333

User Score
9.5
                         

Presentation - 10
Gameplay - 9.5
Value - 9.5
Fantastic game that should be played by everyone. They fixed some things for the better, and for the worse.

The first game I really liked, but it had some flaws. The sequel fixes some things and ruins some things in my opinion.

Fantastic story, except for a lot of the game you are recruiting members for your team. Although they are well developed and interesting, I wouldn't have minded a bit more about the reapers being said. I personally couldn't really "care" about my alien team members as much as my human ones, but thats just me  -.-  They went in depth into more of the world and I really liked that. There is more relationship options this time. I did it with Miranda lol.

Graphics look really good. Scenery is very diverse and interesting.

Mass Effect 2 is a great game if you like choosing being bad or good. Almost every dialogue option you can act like an ass, or be nice. Same dialogue wheel as the first game. During some scenes there is an option to press left trigger or right trigger to do something mean or nice to that person/situation. It works really well.

Combat is much more refined than the first game. It plays almost like gears of war. You can take 2 teammates. There is cover everywhere and like gears of war, you use A for everything with cover. I played as a soldier and I had 5 weapon slots, I liked that a lot. 

Now to what changed from the first game. Weapons have ammo now. In an intense firefight you will usually run out of weapon ammo from a gun and have to change weapons. Enemy loot "drops" are gone, except for dropping ammo cartridges that fill up a small part of each weapon you have. You get weapons from either buying them or picking them up from bins. Then you can equip them to all your team if they can hold it. Your armor stays the same the entire game. You can change the color if you really wanted to. Upgrades are in the game now. You either pick them from like bins, or buy them from shops to "research" them. To actually use them, you can go to a terminal on your ship using one of four types of resources. You get resources from bins on missions, or when you go to your map, you can scan planets waiting for the sensor to show a resource, then launching a probe to get some of it. Some people hated that but I thought it wasn't too bad. You can upgrade everything from biotic abilities, to your ship, to weapons. I think it's a good idea but I wouldnt have minded more weapons. I got like 2-3 of each "normal" type of weapons (pistol, assault rifle, sniper, shotgun) and like 5 heavy weapons for the heavy weapon slot. Also importing your save game from the first is pretty cool. 

All in all, I loved this game. One of my favorite games this gen. Just think of this game of a cross between knights of the old republic, and gears of war. Except for reduced RPG elements, for better or worse. Look at some game site review if you want one thats more in depth lol.


Sales History

Total Sales
0.03m
Japan
1.99m
NA
0.81m
Europe
0.27m
Others
3.10m
Total
1 n/a 568,831 176,438 129,104 874,373
2 n/a 139,889 67,222 35,629 242,740
3 n/a 85,809 31,760 20,313 137,882
4 n/a 48,231 16,755 11,239 76,225
5 n/a 28,789 13,824 7,330 49,943
6 n/a 20,621 6,991 4,777 32,389
7 n/a 14,178 4,886 3,297 22,361
8 n/a 9,734 4,621 2,470 16,825
9 n/a 8,092 3,520 2,001 13,613
10 n/a 7,017 7,135 2,400 16,552

Opinion (348)

rvliscano posted 06/07/2013, 09:08
The best game of the generation and one of the better i've ever play
Message | Report
curl-6 posted 08/05/2013, 09:08
Deserved to sell more; best WRPG of the generation.
Message | Report
DitchPlaya posted 31/03/2012, 03:30
Sales have been picking up recently, hopefully the franchise gets the attention it deserves, PS3 port helped a lot with that at least.
Message | Report
yo_john117 posted 21/01/2012, 07:03
Really osama?
Message | Report
haxxiy posted 12/01/2012, 11:34
@osamanobama I bet people have similar opinions about rhe games you obviously prefer, so why bother?
Message | Report
osamanobama posted 11/01/2012, 01:42
over rated game is over rated
Message | Report
View all