Quantcast
The Japan Preview: 3/6/11 Edition (3DS Week Two, Duodecim PSP) - VGChartz

The Japan Preview: 3/6/11 Edition (3DS Week Two, Duodecim PSP) - News

by VGChartz Staff , posted on 06 March 2011 / 5,181 Views

3DS software was strong in week number two on the Japanese market. PSP also had another big game release for the week.

Preliminary data for the week ending March 6, 2011 has arrived from Japan. Based on that data, the top 15 games, including all skus were as follows. New titles are italicized.

1) Dissidia 012: Duodecim Final Fantasy (PSP) - 274,000

2) Samurai Dou 4 i.e. Way of the Samurai 4 (PS3) - 101,000

3) Digimon Story: Super Xros Wars Blue / Red Editions (DS) - 98,000

4) Professor Layton & The Mask of Miracle (3DS) - 78,000

5) SD Gundam G Generation World (PSP) - 50,000

6) Star Driver: Kagayaki no Takuto - Ginga Bishounen Densetsu (PSP) - 42,000

7) Nintendogs + Cats (3DS) - 40,000

8) Phantasy Star 2 Infinity (PSP) - 38,000

9) Monster Hunter Portable 3 (PSP) - 26,000

10) Samurai Warriors Chronicle (3DS) - 24,000

11) Super Street Fighter IV: 3D Edition (3DS) - 18,000

12) Disgaea 4 (PS3) - 16,000

13) Ridge Racer 3DS (3DS) - 13,000

14) Samurai Warriors 3 Z (PS3) - 12,000

15) Catherine (PS3) - 7,000

In week two on the Japanese market, 3DS games sold at least 173,000 units based on the preliminary data. With a normal drop off for the three games not charting in the preliminary data, 3DS games likely sold about 180,000 - 200,000 units this week in total. Last week Professor Layton & The Mask of Miracle sold to about one in three 3DS users. This week, similar penetration would suggest 3DS sales of about 210,000 units. 3DS likely dropped off more than that though, meaning Mask of Miracle has sold 200,000 units to a base of anywhere between 400,000 and 600,000 units. Nintendogs looks like it has topped 100,000 units this week on 3DS as well. Samurai Warriors Chronicle and Super Street Fighter IV look like they will top 100,000 units pretty quickly on 3DS too, possibly as soon as two weeks from now, which is a good sign for third parties. 

For the older portables software sales were rather strong. PSP's major games from last week, Phantasy Star and SD Gundam G Generation World, both fell quite sharply, dropping from a combined 400,000 units last week to 80,000 units this week. The new Dissidia title for PSP offset much of that fall though by opening to sales of 274,000 units. Monster Hunter Portable 3 continues to sell pretty well, but 5 million units in Japan for the original edition of the game is starting to look like a long shot. PSP hardware and software should gradually weaken throughout the year as the base for 3DS builds and hype for NGP increases. On the DS side, a new Digimon title opened quite well, at almost 100,000 units. Digimon titles usually sell somewhat well for a long time on DS, so lifetime figures of 200,000 - 300,000 units are not impossible for the game.

Console software outside of Way of the Samurai 4, which topped 100,000 units, was rather weak. Disgaea 4 fell sharply for PS3 and Samurai Warriors 3 Z will drop below 10,000 units next week. Top Wii software, which didn't show up at all in the preliminary data, should be right around 10,000 units.

Across all platforms, the candidates most likely to round out the top twenty in the final data are Donkey Kong Country Returns, Pokemon Black / White, SD Gundam G Generation World (Wii), Harukanaru, Rune Factory: Oceans (PS3), and Idolmaster 2 (X360).

Contact VGChartz at jmazel@vgchartz.com


More Articles

21 Comments

dark_gh0st_b0y (on 09 March 2011)

i'm happy about the Digimon game, they are really good on the DS


megaman79 (on 07 March 2011)

http://au.gear.ign.com/articles/112/1124298p1.html - "expects 4 million 3DS sales". So is this possible? Nintendo could make 1.2 to 1.3 million from Japan alone, and its 2.5 million reserved for US/Pal i believe. Its going to be cutting it real close depending on Japan.


megaman79 (on 07 March 2011)

It launched at the same price as the PSP right? So aslong as it beat that, and again outside of holiday period, its looking pretty good.


megaman79 (on 07 March 2011)

Gaming is dead in japan, so given that fact, 200k is adequete I guess.


Bristow9091 (on 07 March 2011)

Oh dear, quite a big drop off for Disgaea 4, I was hoping for a much bigger second week to be honest... it had a better first week than Disgaea 3, but the second week is just terrible, even if it's still higher than the third entry, it's had a bigger drop off. Also, just wondering since I was looking at Disgaea 3 figures to compare them... where are the EU numbers? I mean surely they could push the numbers up to between 0.35-0.40m or something...


non-gravity (on 07 March 2011)

The Japanese must have wondered what happened to Dissidia 2 though 11 and decided to skip number 12


Lostplanet22 (on 07 March 2011)

Well the DS launched in December...Guess that is a better period to sell stuff =p.


ryuzaki57 (on 07 March 2011)

good to have the Japan Preview back :)


abroZ (on 07 March 2011)

I don't think people should start to worry about 3DS sales, in Japan, huge sales come with killer aps.


Michael-5 (on 06 March 2011)

morenoingrato - I don't see anywhere where it states hardware sales for the 3DS. Remember it is selling out, and in limited supply. I think Nintendo rushed the release because it wanted the 3DS to be part of the fisical year.


morenoingrato (on 06 March 2011)

:-( 3DS second week is dissapointing..... I hope it turns out false, since they recieved a large shipment 2nd week and that would mean 3DS tracks considerablyworse that PS2 and DS... ***stops doom talk**£


PhantomLink (on 06 March 2011)

Not the same as before but still better than the WW preview, thanks.


Immortal (on 06 March 2011)

Nice to see the Japan Preview back up again, by the way.


Carl (on 06 March 2011)

Well... Dissidia was pirated something like 6 Million times. Either this has been pirated a lot, or Dissidia didn't sit well with a lot of JP gamers.


Immortal (on 06 March 2011)

Looks like 3DS didn't do quite as well as DS second week if this is accurate. Still great numbers, though, since even though software's slightly under, too, the 3DS was launched with far fewer titles than DS.


VivaLaWiida (on 06 March 2011)

Dissidia 2 flopped because Lightning appeared somehow as the main character in it. Well that's at least my conspiracy.


avalokist (on 06 March 2011)

TOP 15: PSP-5, 3DS-5, PS3-4, DS-1, Wii-0, 360-0. Sony Ruled Japan, AGAIN!!


Christian973 (on 06 March 2011)

Low sales for Dissidia 2. I guess everyone Pirated Dissidia.


Acevil (on 06 March 2011)

God, my second half got deleted. (I said that can't be right, since the first one did 800k) Or is this second week?


Acevil (on 06 March 2011)

Dissidia 012: Duodecim Final Fantasy (PSP) - 274,000


NYANKS (on 06 March 2011)

Go PSP! Fight that mofo invading your turf! :P