By using this site, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our Terms of Use. Close
×

America - Front

America - Back

Review Scores

Ratings

     

Alternative Names

ファイナルファンタジー VII

Developer

SquareSoft

Genre

Role-Playing

Other Versions

PC, PSN, iOS, PS4, NS, XOne, And, All

Release Dates

09/03/97 Sony Computer Entertainment
01/31/97 Square
11/17/97 Sony Computer Entertainment

Community Stats

Owners: 1,193
Favorite: 167
Tracked: 10
Wishlist: 7
Now Playing: 22
 
9.2

Avg Community Rating:

 


Bushikao

User Score
9.5
                         

Presentation - 9.5
Gameplay - 9.0
Value - 10
special note: when i retro-review videogames i either review them based off the feelings i had for the game when i first played it, or how i would have felt about it if i played it upon first release

    I was a newcomer to videogames when this game was first released, aside from Legend of The Seven Stars, this was the first non-fighting game i had ever truely tried to play. And it showed, i couldnt find my way to a door most of the time without asking my brother what to do or where to go next, this game was my introduction to epic story-telling videogames. thus it holds a very special place in my heart.

actually, at first i thought it looked stupid, i thought it was just some odd adventure game, i actually refused to play it, that is until i overheard the Final Fantasy VII main theme while my brother was playing it. in that one song i felt a tremendous amount of emotion, when i heard that sond i knew it was an epic game, and i was then dieing to play it.

   Once i started playing it i was hooked, i loved it, i have never before played a game with so much story and emotional connection. I had discovered what the big fuss was all about, and in fact, i began to become an even bigger fan of the game than my brother and friends.

I hold this game so close to my heart now, that i really hope it DOES NOT get remade EVER. its far from perfect, it was far from perfect even when it was first released. but i would have it no other way, i like it BECUASE of its flaws, like all great works of art.  there is nothing any developer with any amount of money could do to recapture the magic that was the original. if it does someday get remade, i know i am not going to play it.


Shipping Total

9,900,000 Units
As of: December 31st, 2017

Opinion (185)

CarriedLawyer45 posted 18/08/2020, 11:04
Woah... those sales are incredible. People wanted to play better games not just depressing games. The PS1 had a better library than the N64.
Message | Report
RafaelKaito posted 21/02/2017, 06:19
FF7, FF9 and FF4 >>>>... FF6.
Message | Report
RafaelKaito posted 21/02/2017, 06:10
One of the best games of all time. Keep crying haters.
Message | Report
StreaK posted 21/06/2015, 01:19
FFIX is totally an awesome game but no matter what, I just can't get over the character designs. I can't relate to them. Still, they're not so bad that it hinders my game experience. The story in IX is well done but I definitely enjoyed FFVII and FFVIII more, as well as FFX. In any case, these 4 are definitely the best ones. I refer to them all as the SQUARE GOLDEN AGE. VII started the craze and then peaked with FFX - after that, the game's became weak for me.
Message | Report
gamingpotato7 posted 09/11/2014, 03:45
what a great game. Brings a lot of memories. Anyway, should have more than 10 million by now
Message | Report
Dadrik posted 29/03/2014, 10:37
FF VII is a masterpiece. FF IX is a masterpiece. FF VIII is a little weird, but it's still great. But seriously, none of these are as good as FF VI. This game is the ultimate Final Fantasy, if not the ultimate JRPG.

Please Square, make FF XV the way a FF is supposed to be: great.
Message | Report
View all