By using this site, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our Terms of Use. Close
×

America - Front

America - Back

Review Scores

VGChartz Score
8.8
                         

Ratings

     

Alternative Names

ギアーズ オブ ウォー

Developer

Epic Games

Genre

Shooter

Other Versions

PC, Series, XBL

Release Dates

11/07/06 Microsoft Game Studios
01/18/07 Microsoft Game Studios
11/17/06 Microsoft Game Studios

Community Stats

Owners: 1,220
Favorite: 63
Tracked: 10
Wishlist: 12
Now Playing: 12
 
8.7

Avg Community Rating:

 

This game defines Third Person Shooter.

08th Apr 2010 | 1,614 views 


Michael-5

User Score
9.9
                         

Presentation - 10
Gameplay - 9.7
Value - 10
This is one of the best games ever made. Easily among my top 5 favorite games.

Story 9.5/10

The story is excellent, but not fleshed out in the game.

Graphics 9.9/10

Could use more colour, but otherwise among the best. When this game came out, it started the HD gaming trend. It showed people what a proper 360 game would look like, and made my buy the console.

Commercial 11/10

Damn best commercial for a video game ever. Just had to mention it. I am refering to the comercial with the ending song from Donnie Darko. Forget the name of the song.

Gameplay 9.7/10

Online Chainsaw fights are dull, but the cover system and almost everything else was perfected in this title.

Value 10/10

Although Online was added on late into the games development, it's almost flawless. Except for chainsaw newbs, this game is unique, and keeps me interested years after release

Overall 9.9/10

I know you might not agree with me, but I love the gameplay, the story, the online experience, and everything about this game. This game was the reason I bought a 360, and I do not regret it at all. This is still my favorite current gen game, and i honestly see nothing that can top this for me. Maybe Mass Effect 2, or Uncharted 2, but thats it. Halo, Gears 2, Resistance, Killzone, Resident Evil 5, MGS, Lost Odyssey, and even Mass Effect 1, are all inferior titles to me.


Shipping Total

5,000,000 Units
As of: January 15th, 2009

Opinion (122)

nugget posted 28/10/2014, 04:30
Had to learn how to play it but, I agree, it was totally worth it!
Message | Report
drake_tolu posted 23/06/2014, 01:00
Fantastic game.
Good sales. :)
Message | Report
Dark_Lord_2008 posted 27/03/2013, 06:28
closing in on 6 million. launched over 6 years ago. An Epic game that kick started the legendary Gears of War franchise.
Message | Report
Deyon posted 26/01/2013, 08:38
The only reason i bought an Xbox, totally worth it!
Message | Report
thewastedyouth posted 27/12/2012, 10:22
lol Japan sales
Message | Report
tontus posted 27/10/2011, 09:45
Just to inform you people who are worrying about it being less than 6m, it's actually at 6.14m because of the Gears of War triple pack.
Message | Report
View all