By using this site, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our Terms of Use. Close
×

America - Front

America - Back

Review Scores

VGChartz Score
7.2
                         

Ratings

     

Alternative Names

Dante's Inferno: Shinkyoku Jigoku-Hen

ダンテズ・インフェルノ 〜神曲 地獄篇〜

Developer

Visceral Games

Genre

Action

Other Versions

PS3, PSN, PSP, XBL

Release Dates

02/09/10 Electronic Arts
02/18/10 Electronic Arts
02/05/10 Electronic Arts

Community Stats

Owners: 93
Favorite: 3
Tracked: 1
Wishlist: 15
Now Playing: 1
 
7.9

Avg Community Rating:

 

God of war attempt

29th May 2010 | 1,607 views 


usrevenge

User Score
6.3
                         

Presentation - 8.0
Gameplay - 6.0
Value - 4.5
an mediocre attempt to bring God of war style game to multiplatform.

Dante's inferno is a play called the Divine commedy. it's about dante, who cheated on his wife(?) who bet her soul to th devil that he would keep his word.

( this is the basic story)

Dante's inferno has alot in common with god of war, you are fighting through hell in a button masher doing combo's with sweet delicious blood and gore. the problem with dante's inferno was that it stopped short. lets look at the good and bad

The good-

bloody, could have been more but blood is great

BABIES- one of the enemies are unbaptised babies, it's shocking to see them attack at first.

Ambient sounds- as you move through hell, you hear souls screaming based on where they are, in Gluttony you hear a guy saying "Don't waste Don't waste, i'l eat it"

Holy and Unholy, both differnt skill trees have difrent abilities

and the story, the story is good.

 

THE BAD

well more like dispointments.

Bosses. they are a joke and involve litterally the same thing, a few attacks, then button sequence. the bosses die the same way each play through. and none feel epic in the way you kill them.

Platforming. it sucks, it is more frustrating than fun at all times.

replay value- none, its litteraly the same game nothing is new, bosses die the same way puzzles and platforming make you want to jump out a window and monsters are still themselves.

a few glitches, i heard of did't expiernce glitches of games becoming currupt so saving often was neccessary, but you need to save at a statue which means you cannot just pause and save your game.

Game time, beat it first day. about 8 hours of gameplay.

In short, Dante's inferno was fun, untill you beat it. there was DLC for the game, but a game should not be rated for DLC what comes in the box is what a review is.

hopfully they learn from thier mistakes and make the sequal better than ever.

 


Sales History

Total Sales
0.02m
Japan
0.63m
NA
0.20m
Europe
0.08m
Others
0.92m
Total
1 n/a n/a 35,781 35,781
2 n/a 113,745 17,124 22,861 153,730
3 4,605 47,395 13,061 11,246 76,307
4 1,778 29,511 10,951 7,483 49,723
5 1,102 20,239 2,466 3,973 27,780
6 810 14,125 1,881 2,799 19,615
7 671 9,354 1,203 1,847 13,075
8 590 6,975 978 1,390 9,933
9 499 5,696 1,992 1,329 9,516
10 413 6,039 2,118 1,411 9,981

Opinion (33)

CarriedLawyer45 posted 25/06/2020, 08:26
Very underrated game. It's pretty sad that it didn't get a sequel.
Message | Report
Slimebeast posted 12/10/2012, 09:01
I played this after I played God of War 3, and while similar, Dante's Inferno was even better, especially when it comes to atmosphere.
Message | Report
tontus posted 03/09/2012, 12:27
Oh hell no, this is awful compared to God of War and mediocre compared to everything else. For people who have a Xbox 360 and want something like God of War get Castlevania: Lords of Shadow, that game is absolutely fantastic! You'll probably enjoy Dante's Inferno if you play it before playing a God of War game, otherwise it just feels like a really mediocre copy, I still want an improved sequel though because I love the genre.
Message | Report
yo_john117 posted 24/09/2011, 09:12
Almost as good as God of War IMO. Needs better sales.
Message | Report
Salem posted 06/09/2011, 05:08
I think nearly 2mil in sales is hardly poor. The biggest complaint ive seen about this game is its too much like god of war, and if critics dont like that, shame on them
Message | Report
thetonestarr posted 06/09/2011, 01:00
Enjoy this game, but it got poor reviews and even poorer sales. Shame.
Message | Report
View all