By using this site, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our Terms of Use. Close
×

America - Front

America - Back

Review Scores

VGChartz Score
9.0
                         

Ratings

     

Alternative Names

バットマン アーカム・アサイラム

Developer

Rocksteady Studios

Genre

Action

Other Versions

PS3, PC, All

Release Dates

08/25/09 Eidos Interactive
01/14/10 Square Enix
08/28/09 Eidos Interactive

Community Stats

Owners: 237
Favorite: 21
Tracked: 1
Wishlist: 11
Now Playing: 8
 
8.9

Avg Community Rating:

 

My Batman: arkham asylum review

28th Aug 2009 | 1,617 views 


koyotecat

User Score
9.9
                         

Presentation - 10
Gameplay - 10
Value - 9.5
It took a while but I finally have a new favorite game of all time.

Ok, understand before I review this game that I dont rate games based on its graphics or innovation. Those are both nice things but I rate by how much fun I had with a certain game. With that said I have to say I am AMAZED by this game. This game is not only through the roof fun but, it also includes both of those things.

 

I'm going to do this review in three different sections, fun, gameplay, and bang for your buck. so let's start shall we?

Okay to put it in a perspective of how much fun this game is I missed my first hour of school because I stayed up all night playing this and didn't even realize I had. It felt like I had been playing for only a couple of hours. It never felt like a chore and it never had a dull moment. Might I add that I got it at three in the afternoon? I'm just shocked by how much fun this game is. What surprised me even more is that i'm usually the kind of guy that just beats a game and doesn't go for the collectables, and I went and solved every one of the riddles.

Anyways on to the gameplay.

The reason the gameplay is so good is because it makes you feel like batman. It's also good because it's quite varied. There are three different elements of gameplay to this game. Action, stealth and puzzle. Action is comprised of visceral fights that's easy to use but tough to master. You use the X button to strike, the Y button to counter, the B button to stun enemies and the left thumbstick to target which enemy you want to hit. Stealth Is the most satisfying part of the game. What you do is pick off armed enemies sneekily so as not to die. You can use several different types of takedowns. Puzzle is about obviously solving puzzles. You can use Batmans several gadgets to get past obstacles or solve some of the riddlers challenges. Almost every gameplay aspect is spot on.

Well on to the final part of my review.

I listed the value at 9.5 because while a lengthy game if you do every thing there is and play it again not everybody is going to want to. After all games nowadays cost 60$. But if you are a true bat fan then it's well worth it.

Overall this game truly was worth the wait. I can see how it couldn't be everyones cup of tea but you could always rent it first. However I recommend you buy it because it truly is so far game of the year 2009.


Sales History

Total Sales
0.02m
Japan
2.24m
NA
0.95m
Europe
0.33m
Others
3.54m
Total
1 n/a 236,485 95,466 57,274 389,225
2 n/a 91,397 63,862 26,525 181,784
3 n/a 54,639 29,535 14,450 98,624
4 n/a 33,988 26,237 10,269 70,494
5 n/a 21,052 19,251 6,849 47,152
6 n/a 13,285 14,639 4,727 32,651
7 n/a 8,370 10,036 3,111 21,517
8 n/a 7,093 9,189 2,748 19,030
9 n/a 7,225 8,716 2,694 18,635
10 n/a 7,216 7,799 2,543 17,558

Opinion (41)

elizabeth55 posted 15/06/2015, 04:47

Hello Dear
my name is elizabet dion
I am, very happy to contact you, to day
and i wish to be in good relationship, with you
and i will be very happy if you can reply me
through my private (elizabethdion245@hotmail.com)

Message | Report
h2o1977 posted 25/11/2011, 03:21
Game Of The Year Edition Rocks !!!!
Message | Report
yo_john117 posted 24/09/2011, 08:48
This game has had great legs.
Message | Report
Mordred11 posted 05/09/2011, 09:27
this version sold better than i expected!
Message | Report
yahoocom1984 posted 01/08/2011, 10:37
I think this game is much much better than Assasin's creed, it deserved more sales
Message | Report
Etanclan4life posted 22/06/2011, 01:13
Best super hero game ever.
Message | Report
View all