By using this site, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our Terms of Use. Close
×

America - Front

America - Back

Review Scores

VGChartz Score
8.3
                         

Ratings

   

Developer

High Voltage Software

Genre

Shooter

Release Dates

06/23/09 Sega
(Add Date)
07/10/09 Sega

Friend Code

Community Stats

Owners: 423
Favorite: 8
Tracked: 18
Wishlist: 35
Now Playing: 51
 
7.4

Avg Community Rating:

 

Second Best Wii FPS

29th Jun 2009 | 1,612 views 


jbee02

User Score
8.5
                         

Presentation - 7.0
Gameplay - 8.5
Value - 8.5
This game definitely doesn't innovate the genre in any expectational way beside it's control customization. But this game is a rock solid shooter through and through.

I've read dozens reviews and hand on previews, and many have said that the game playes like Goldeneye and Perfect dark. Though I wouldn't go as  far to say the game plays like those N64 classics, i will say this. The single player campaign is very straight forward go from point A to point B, killing anything in your way and not much more. To sum it up the campaign, it is simple in a retro way that's reminecent of the classic fps of the N64 age. Some critics have praised and others have ridiculed The Conduit for this. Personally i wish this game offered more in mission veriaty and level design like modern fps, but what the the campaign does have to offer is good enough to warrent my forgiveness for it's short comings. The campaing is short but does have some replay value that stems from achievements and hidden cryptic messages that spell out the suprisingly deep back story.

But be forwarned cause it's not easy peicing together the back story. You have to find all the hidden messages write them down and peice them together like a jigsaw puzzle, and unless your a conspiracy theory buff you're going to have to google all the refrences to real life conspiracy theories and events to peice them together to paint the story. With out the back story the main story is pretty bland and multiple major plot twist will go unnoticed. I did find all the messages, and i began to try to decifer all of them but relieze it was to much work. I just found some one on the internet who had did the work already. It would have been nice if finding a hidden message would trigger a conversation between Prometheus and Michael breifly explaining the meaning of these cyptic messages and finding all the messages in a level would unlock and extened cutscene between levels that would peice them together to form a part of the backstory in sequential order. Other problems with the story were in it's presentations. The problems being a lack cinnimatics. The story is told through of series of none face to face conversations in and between levels. The only cinniamatic touchs you'll see are one or two scripted event that are pretty underwhelming. Cutscenes between missions are simply consist of conversation with subtitles and nothing intresting to watch. This was pure lazzyness on HVS part. During the interview HVS representives did say they didn't want this game to be really cinamatic in order to not take the players away from the action to long but they could had atleast gave us some vissually epic cutscenes to go along with the inbetween mission conversations with out making them longer. Just so we could have seen more of the war torn Washiton DC, and to add some much needed transitions between levels.

But where this game really stands out from other fps, is it's innovative and unpressedently deep customization. How is it innovative you ask. You can adjust all your aiming sensitivity options, in real time allowing you to find your perfect settings without constanly switching in and out of the menu system to test your changes. This allows you to fine tune your controls with a far greater; level of perfection in a much shorter amount of time.. Spend 5 - 10 minutes and you will be pulling off headshots with great ease. All these options have numeric values so you can record them and share them with your friend or tranfere them to other fps that have the similar sensitivity customization like Call of Duty 4 on the wii. Granted this requires some math because these games don't use the same numeric scale but it is do able and it's quicker and easier then trying to find your sweet spot all over again.

Every aspect of the controls are customizable. The button layout, running speed, turning speed, camera style, and control style. To put it bluntly this game has the best controls and the most control options of any fps on any console or PC hands down. The only gripe that people have with the control option and is that you can't completely turn of motion controls. Nor can you easily remap the melee action and grenade action to a button because not all ations can be maped to motion controls. People don't like meleeing and throwing grenades with motion controls cause it throws off your aim of. But I don't think thats a bad thing. Yes having meleeing by thrusting wiimote and throwing Grenades does throw off your aim but it's it makes things more realistic and being able to throw grenades and meleeing without throwing your aim off is a skill that you can develope with practice and it will give you an advantage in online multiplayer. It's a skill that separates the boys from the men and any one who finds a way to remap these action and does so in online multiplayer is a noob in my opinion.

But controls aren't the only thing you can customize the hell out of. You can customize the on screen HUD. Every thing from where your health, ammo, guns, gerendades, and converstion text appears on your screan and how transparent they are is customizable. You can even remove them completely. My friend who was used to playing Halo 3 customize the Hud to mimic Halo 3's hud setup so he didn't have to waste time getting used to a different hud setup. Later on when i was playing Call of Duty 4: Modern War Reflex Edition on the wii i found my self looking up in the upright corner of the screen to see how much ammo i had left because that where it was in The Conduit but not in Call of Duty 4, for me this is were it really sunk in how great it is to have Hud customization and i seriously hope it becomes a standard in the gaming industry. I could go on for a long time explaining all the options but i've covered the most important customization options in detail so i'll move on.

Multiplayer in this game is really top notch. It's up there with multiplayer gaints like Halo 3 or Call of Duty 4. You can choose between playing with friends, regionally, or worldwide, then you can choose between, free for all, team, team objectives. Each 3 haveing multiple modes for a total of 13 different multiplayer modes and 7 multiplayer maps. This is all tied nicely together with a slick voteing system and voice chat. The game does have one free for all mode thats new and unique to The Conduit. That mode is Bounty hunter mode. In this mode every one is given their own personal player target to go after, who is marked on your screen so you can find him. You only get points for killing your target. You get 0 points for killing the person who has you as their target(which you have no way of knowing for sure who he is). You get a -1 point for killing any one else. This mode is extremely fun and one of my favorite multiplayer modes of all time. The entire multiplayer experience is great only brought down by the use of friend code, but they do allow you to send freind request to people already registered on you wii friend list and friend of friends easeing the weight of the friend code sytem greatly.

Graphically this game is a mixed bag. On one side you have a lot of technically impressive effects, like bump-mapping, Dynamic lighting, Real time reflextion and refraction, dynamic water effects, and sum impressive partical effects. But on a art design these game is pretty lacking. Like a said before there are some impressive graphical effects but they are un ballanced. Character models and gun models look like they're from the 360 but everything else looks like it's from the gamecube.

AI is a mixed bag too. They are pretty good at out flanking you and surrounding you if you give them the chance but they will quite oftem stand still and let you shoot them. Though the AI in this game is still far better than any other Wii fps, so it's hard to speak of it in negative terms.

Overral decent signle player campaign with a great online(the best on the wii) and phenominal controls, from a technical standpoint it has the best graphics on the wii but that only half of what makes good graphics good the other half is art and that's were they are seriously lacking. Granted this game probably won't win any more awards, as for it doesn't do anything new with the genre. But it's still  a worth while purchase and it held the title of best FPS on the wii until recently when Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare Reflex edition was released on the wii.


Shipping Total

270,000 Units
As of: September 30th, 2009

Opinion (848)

supernihilist posted 23/01/2014, 05:54
i think its a lil bit overtracked... number should be more like 500k flat
Message | Report
DieAppleDie posted 12/11/2012, 03:08
i absolutely liked moar this game, despite its inferior grafix over the secuel
Message | Report
dark_gh0st_b0y posted 09/01/2012, 10:34
there used to be hardcore on Wii in 2007 bu they moved away and are still moving because 3rd parties ony put their hardcore games on Ps3/Xbox360, also many people pirate hardcore games on Wii which certainly deosn't help
Message | Report
Fededx posted 28/08/2011, 05:01
I enjoeyd the game a lot, I usually don't play FPS, but on Wii I find them more fun and easier to play. It's a good game, and it sold ok, and I'm glad it did. Hope it generated some earnings to SEGA and HVS :)
Message | Report
spurgeonryan posted 24/06/2011, 07:45
I guess that they were not, oh well you can add my buy to it.
Message | Report
spurgeonryan posted 22/06/2011, 09:27
Should have a boost this week if sales were country wide!
Message | Report
View all