By using this site, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our Terms of Use. Close
×

America - Front

America - Back

Review Scores

VGChartz Score
8.3
                         

Ratings

   

Developer

High Voltage Software

Genre

Shooter

Release Dates

06/23/09 Sega
(Add Date)
07/10/09 Sega

Friend Code

Community Stats

Owners: 423
Favorite: 8
Tracked: 18
Wishlist: 35
Now Playing: 51
 
7.4

Avg Community Rating:

 

An above-average FPS on a system starved for them

24th Feb 2018 | 1,661 views 


Veknoid_Outcast

User Score
6.5
                         

Presentation - 7.0
Gameplay - 6.0
Value - 7.0
Customizable IR controls and impressive graphics elevate this decent first-person shooter from High Voltage Software.

[Originally written in May, 2010]

It's no secret that first-person shooter (FPS) fans have little to celebrate on the Wii; the latest Nintendo console makes its money on action-adventure and platform games and, unfortunately, "shovelware," and either cannot or will not invest in first-party or third-party FPSs. The Conduit, along with earlier games like Red Steel, form the exception to this rule.

Set in Washington, D.C. in the not-too-distant future, The Conduit follows secret agent Michael Ford as he attempts to stop an alien menace called the Drudge from taking over the U.S. capital. Action takes place in several D.C. landmarks, including Reagan National Airport, the Jefferson Memorial, the Library of Congress, the Pentagon, and the White House.

The plot, characters, and voice work in The Conduit are unfortunately rather uninspired, but in a few areas the game shines, namely play control and graphics. The Wii is underpowered compared to its rival systems, but The Conduit makes the most of its processing power to create very vivid landscapes and models. High Voltage Software used a Wii-specific engine called Quantum3 to produce sophisticated graphic effects. The controls, which are fully customizable, are even more impressive. The Wii remote acts as a mouse would on a computer FPS, giving players total control over onscreen movement.

Another enjoyable, if underused feature of The Conduit is the All-Seeing Eye (ASE), a device recovered early in the game that can be used to identify invisible enemies and uncover secret messages, hidden chambers, and bonus discs.

Although it's underwhelming in several instances, The Conduit is an enjoyable and decent shooter on a system woefully lacking in that genre. Perhaps The Conduit 2, announced in March, will deliver the outstanding FPS experience Wii fans are waiting for.


Shipping Total

270,000 Units
As of: September 30th, 2009

Opinion (848)

supernihilist posted 23/01/2014, 05:54
i think its a lil bit overtracked... number should be more like 500k flat
Message | Report
DieAppleDie posted 12/11/2012, 03:08
i absolutely liked moar this game, despite its inferior grafix over the secuel
Message | Report
dark_gh0st_b0y posted 09/01/2012, 10:34
there used to be hardcore on Wii in 2007 bu they moved away and are still moving because 3rd parties ony put their hardcore games on Ps3/Xbox360, also many people pirate hardcore games on Wii which certainly deosn't help
Message | Report
Fededx posted 28/08/2011, 05:01
I enjoeyd the game a lot, I usually don't play FPS, but on Wii I find them more fun and easier to play. It's a good game, and it sold ok, and I'm glad it did. Hope it generated some earnings to SEGA and HVS :)
Message | Report
spurgeonryan posted 24/06/2011, 07:45
I guess that they were not, oh well you can add my buy to it.
Message | Report
spurgeonryan posted 22/06/2011, 09:27
Should have a boost this week if sales were country wide!
Message | Report
View all