Quantcast
Mario & Luigi 3 for Nintendo DS
×

America - Front

America - Back

Review Scores

VGChartz Score
9.1
                         

Ratings

     

Alternative Names

Mario & Luigi RPG 3

マリオ&ルイージRPG3!!!

Developer

AlphaDream Corporation

Genre

Role-Playing

Release Dates

09/14/09 Nintendo
02/11/09 Nintendo
10/09/09 Nintendo

Community Stats

Owners: 324
Favorite: 34
Tracked: 9
Wishlist: 43
Now Playing: 17
 
8.6

Avg Community Rating:

 

Joyfully jump INSIDE this story!

08th Dec 2019 | 214 views 


Dulfite

User Score
8.6
                         

Presentation - 1.0
Gameplay - 1.0
Value - 1.0
This stands with Paper Mario TTYD and Super Mario RPG as one of the best of the best!

Originality: In terms of feel, practically identical to it’s predecessor, Partners in Time. The combat system in battle and abilities outside of battle were the same as PiT. However, it was truly unique in the sense that this game was mostly (or at least half) from the perspective of Bowser, something truly unique in the multitude of Mario based games. I’m also very impressed with how much you have to return to places previously explored as you gain new abilities. I wonder, did this game impact how Skyward Sword was developed? I digress…With how good this game turned out, I am seriously hoping they make more Bowser based games in the future.

 

17/20

 

Graphics: This game was made during the last year or two of the DS (the 3DS/PSP/Vita all had/have games with better graphics) so it’s graphics couldn’t really be pushed further than what the DS could handle. The graphics in BiS and PiT are, at least to me, indistinguishable and PiT came out way sooner. It’s not the games fault, it was simply made on an old platform that has already been maxed out, but graphics are graphics and that’s what I’m evaluating here in comparison to other games of its time period.

 

5/10

 

Art Style: I really enjoy the art style of this game. It’s a 2d game that feels like a 3d one (not pop out 3d, the other kind cause even though I’m playing it on my 3ds it’s a ds game…) in some respects but is still mostly a 2d game, yet it looks so much better than the traditional 2d Mario games to me in style. It’s just fun and cartoony whereas the other ones are more often identical to each other in style. I have no complaints but for some reason, it didn’t feel quite as amazing as something like Skyward Sword feels in terms of art style so it won’t get a perfect score, but still props to Nintendo!

 

13/15

 

Story: Funny. Full of twists. I really loved the story of this game. It’s truly stunning how Nintendo didn’t ever focus on story before Legend of the 7 stars, but that game has two amazing series successors in Paper Mario and the Mario and Luigi RPG series. Love the stories of all these games and this one is one of the best Nintendo has ever made in my opinion. My only complaint is maybe a few too many characters in the game were speaking in that nerdy goofy language that Nintendo loves to use (and it works too, makes me laugh). Other than that, perfect!

 

28/30

 

Game Interface: It would have been nice if that bottom screen could have been accessed seamlessly with the style instead of tapping/pushing a button just to open it up. Good otherwise but this actually made the game feel a little annoying at times.

 

3/5

 

Controls easy and fluid or difficult and rigid? Great! Even the parts where you have to tap a, b, x, or y rapidly aren’t that crazy J

 

5/5

 

Is it fun? Absolutely! 15/15

 

Total Score: 86/100


Shipping Total

4,560,000 Units
As of: December 2014

Opinion (101)

No9tro posted 03/04/2019, 01:01
@Lynx_7 Not anymore :)
Message | Report
Lynx_7 posted 18/05/2014, 07:17
Waaaaay undertracked. http://www.nintendo.co.jp/ir/pdf/2011/110426e.pdf#page=5
According to Nintendo, this has sold at least 4.13m as of April 2011. Probably more since then.
Message | Report
ROFLMAO posted 26/06/2012, 02:23
I loved the Bowser sections of the game. Probably my favourite RPG outside of Pokemon.
Message | Report
oniyide posted 10/10/2011, 12:50
Any game that makes me CARE about Bowser on a character level is a 9.5 for me. This puts console JRPGs to shame
Message | Report
oniyide posted 10/10/2011, 12:50
Any game that makes me CARE about Bowser on a character level is a 9.5 for me. This puts console JRPGs to shame
Message | Report
fedfed posted 07/06/2011, 01:58
A truly inspirtional funny game. 9.2
Message | Report
View all