By using this site, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our Terms of Use. Close
×

America - Front

America - Back

Review Scores

VGChartz Score
9.6
                         

Ratings

     

Alternative Names

スーパーマリオギャラクシー

Developer

Nintendo EAD Tokyo

Genre

Platform

Release Dates

11/12/07 Nintendo
11/01/07 Nintendo
11/16/07 Nintendo

Community Stats

Owners: 2,490
Favorite: 245
Tracked: 17
Wishlist: 33
Now Playing: 35
 
9.3

Avg Community Rating:

 

Super Mario Galaxy raises the bar for games on wii

19th Jan 2010 | 1,638 views 


killeryoshis

User Score
9.7
                         

Presentation - 10
Gameplay - 10
Value - 9.5
The highly wanted mario game comes and blow exceptions out the water and shows how advance the wii's controls are.

Super Mario Galaxy is the next installment in the mario 3-D series. The Game was released in 2007. Now straight to the point of this review.
The game has the story of pretty much every mario game out there. Peach gets kidnap and bowser stole the stars from a new character Princess Roslina. Mario must gather the stars to get them and power the ship to save the princess. The game is basicly Super Mario 64 in Space. The game has a lot of diffrent kind of stages. We can go from volcanoes to moutains and even a toy galaxy. The game uses gravity as a new concept in the game. That's how its set apart from Mario 64. The game's controls prove how motion controls should be used in wii games. You use the wii pointer to collect star bits. Which are used to get more galaxies. Than we have stages like the manta ray and rolling on top of a ball. Both use motion controls really well. Try putting those controls on a regular controller. I bet it won't be as good. The platfroming is fantastic. You never do the same thing for a long time. You unlock new galaxies fast.      So no being repetative.  The game's graphics are the best on the wii I seen.
Nouthing in the game looks dull. Everything is rich with detail. The scenes are graphics that show what the wii is capable of. The music in the game is beautiful. The game changes music within levels. So your not hearing the same thing twice. Their are many good songs. My favorite has to be Gusty Garden Galaxy's. But their are many others.

Now with the good stuff out of the way let's talk about the negatives. First the comets are only there because the creators couldn't make a new mission. I mean seriously. Your redoing a previous mission but with a new rule added on top. The purple coins can be a chore at times. If they made it like you have a predetermined path with grapping Purple coins and do a bunch of platforming while getting them. Would be much more fun. The other thing I have to complain is that they put the most basic ideas and most used platforming in platforming games. Fire world again,Ice world again? Sand world again?Than they have galaxies that are pretty much the same as other galaxies. See much of the fun of this game came when they were to put a new kind of platforming. 
I hope Galaxy 2 changes this though.

The game is my favorite game of all time. It really sets the tone on how you should make a wii game. Like I said the bar has been raised. Congrats nintendo you outdid yourself. 


Shipping Total

12,800,000 Units
As of: March 31st, 2020

Opinion (846)

Marth posted 06/05/2021, 08:06
09/2020 - 03/2021: No change
Message | Report
Oceanblue posted 01/04/2021, 06:27
Definitely my favorite game of all time, I have beaten it four times now. Bought the 3D All Stars collection just for this one game alone, wasn't disappointed. The game still holds up even today, truly a masterpiece.
Message | Report
Marth posted 07/05/2020, 08:10
+10k
Message | Report
S.Peelman posted 30/10/2015, 01:22
Nintendo says 12.59m as of september 30.

Lower than Brawl again now, but yeah, still undertracked by at least a million.
Message | Report
Clyde32 posted 07/01/2015, 09:37
Yeah, he's right, this is undertracked by 1 million.
Message | Report
Lynx_7 posted 12/12/2014, 01:14
Undertracked by over a million copies. I was pretty surprised to discover this sold more than Brawl according to Nintendo. Definetely deserved.
Message | Report
View all