×

America - Front

America - Back

Review Scores

VGChartz Score
9.1
                         

Ratings

     

Alternative Names

ニュースーパーマリオブラザーズ Wii

Developer

Nintendo EAD

Genre

Platform

Release Dates

11/15/09 Nintendo
12/03/09 Nintendo
11/20/09 Nintendo

Community Stats

Owners: 1,803
Favorite: 85
Tracked: 43
Wishlist: 87
Now Playing: 73
 
8.7

Avg Community Rating:

 

NSMBW - An incredible experience.

03rd Feb 2010 | 1,606 views 


radishhead

User Score
9.7
                         

Presentation - 9.0
Gameplay - 10
Value - 9.0
My opinion on the latest Mario instalment for the Wii...

Being a Wii gamer is difficult at the moment. I enjoy posting in gaming forums, but the amount of people claiming the Wii is a "dead console", a "stupid casual console" or even "not a ****ing home console!!1" - it breaks my heart to see people saying such cruel things about the only current gen games console I own.

I'm not bias however - I appreciate the Xbox360 and PS3 for what they are. The fact that I dislike FPS and sports games means that these consoles aren't the best choice for a gamer like me. Yes, I said gamer - because back on topic again, NSMBW isn't a watered down casual mess that so many people seem to be under the impression that it is. It's a proper game, and freaking difficult at times too O.o

 

Presentation:

I can't complain with the presentation of this game. The game reflects what Mario is all about - bright colours, cheerful music and the like. Graphics look nice too - all shiny and cheerful :) No corners were cut here, and I thank Nintendo for that.

 

Gameplay:

Multiplayer is the newest element to the franchise, and is the only new aspect of gameplay that I can comment on for this review. Having said that, the multiplayer is fantastic fun - I got some mates round (they love their X360s) and they were having too much fun to notice that it wasn't in shiny HD. As with so many Nintendo games, the gameplay is the star of the show here.

 

Value:

What can I say? This game proves to me that the Wii is far from dead. The package contains many hours  worth of gameplay here, and some of those star-coins are devilishly hard to get! Fantastic all-round game - I'd recommend people buy a Wii to get this game alone.


Shipping Total

30,300,000 Units
As of: March 31st, 2020

Opinion (1004)

Marth posted 07/05/2020, 08:08
+20k
Message | Report
Marth posted 31/10/2019, 08:26
+20k since march
Message | Report
fedfed posted 29/08/2017, 01:15
very under tracked!
Message | Report
Shadow1980 posted 09/02/2017, 03:57
Undertracked. Nintendo has it at 29.9 million.
Message | Report
goldmario79 posted 10/12/2016, 01:38
They talked to Super Mario creator who said back when this was created they "rolled back" the complexity of Mario Games to allow more people to understand and pick them up instantly/play them. Instead they created a side-scrolling masterpiece that sold so far 28 million copies. Of course that was going to happen.
Message | Report
fedfed posted 19/09/2016, 11:00
this has sold almost as the NEWSMBU this year!
Message | Report
View all