By using this site, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our Terms of Use. Close

America - Front

America - Back

Review Scores





Other Versions

GG, MS, NES, Series, VC, XB

Release Dates

07/01/91 Tecmo
(Add Date)
(Add Date)

Community Stats

Owners: 2
Favorite: 0
Tracked: 0
Wishlist: 0
Now Playing: 0


Now the adventure and thrill of this fast-paced, action-packed coin-op hit is placed in your hands!

Kick, punch, and master the special Ninjutsu techniques as you battle your way through four of the nastiest neighborhoods known to man


~back of the box



Your training is nearly complete, NINJA. To earn the title of NINJA
GAIDEN you must compete a daring quest.

Many have gone before you, some more experienced, some less.

The powers of darkness have turned the sacred silent city into the
evil, noxious lair. They profane the holy walls with graffiti
and billboards. They fill the streets with smoke and filth.

We have sent many experienced NINJAs to free the city none have returned.
We have heard that some have been destroyed. Others have been too
weak to overcome the lure of evil and gone over to the other side.

But you are different, NINJA you are brave in heart and spirit maybe
you will free our holy city and our sacred land of this evil.
If you succeed, you will be called a true hero, a NINJA GAIDEN.
If you fail, you will be called a memory.

Under cover of storm, the young NINJA approaches the silent city.


To begin the game, insert the NINJA GAIDEN game card and press the
on button. Press A or B to advance through the title screens.
Press B to fight the powers of darkness. Change direction by pressing
the joypad right or left. During the battle, the young NINJA discovers
that he must often use his agile strength to jump. Press a to jump
straight up. Press option 1 while the young NINJA is in the air to
grab a pipe or bar. While the NINJA hangs from a bar or other object,
press the joypad to swing and the B button to kick an enemy.

As an enemy approaches, the NINJA runs towards him and jumps. As
he flips over the enemy's head, the NINJA grabs the evil one's
shoulders and throws him. The pause button stops the game until
you press pause again. Option 1 and pause together restarts the
game option 2 and pause flips the screen.

The NINJA begins his quest. He runs through the city, fighting the
powers of darkness. His rappid-fire kicks and punches and well timed
flips and jumps make the NINJA a tough foe for the swarming enemies.


The NINJA must defeat eight enemy classes to succeed: masked NINJA,
lumberjack NINJA, clawed warrior, dark lord, black NINJA, sumo,
wrestler, white NINJA.

After clearing the city of evil guardians, The NINJA still has one
enemy to face: the mighty dark lord. The dark lord is very large
and he's armed with razor-sharp sabres. He is highly trained in
all the violent arts-in fact, he invented most of them himself.

Time is short for our NINJA hero. He starts with only 99 seconds
to complete each of the levels. If he does not complete a level
within the alloted time, he will lose a life.

The young NINJA sends a masked NINJA enemy flying. The masked NINJA
crashes into a telephone booth and smashes it to pieces, revealing
a valuable treasure within.


There are six different treasures and power ups:

Blue pill increases K.O.s remaining by one.
Red pill increases K.O.s remaining to five.
Ruby 300 points.
Clock adds 20 seconds to timer.
Sword fight with a sword instead of your fists.
Mans add one life.

Is takes more than a simple K.O. to beat our hero! As long as he has at
least one K.O. left on the K.O. indicator, he gets up relatively unscathed.

Each time the NINJA is knocked out, the indicator is reduced by one.
When the K.O. indicator reaches zero, the NINJA loses a life.
If the NINJA loses enough lives, the game ends.

You can continue the game from where the NINJA hero lost his last
life. When the continue screen apears, press A or B before time
runs out. The NINJA lives again, but the point total returns to zero.

The NINJA must cleanse four areas of the silent city: a) city streets
b) casino motto c) train station d) palace

Battling the DARK LORD


When you complete the fourth level, the game ends. if the NINJA completed
all four levels without losing his last life, he earns the title



Latest Screenshots

Latest Updates

Game Banner Added to Database Blacksaber 26th Dec 2009
Screenshots Added NintendoMonopoly 03rd Jan 2009
Screenshots Added NintendoMonopoly 03rd Jan 2009
Game Information Updated oliist 14th Dec 2008
Boxart Added oliist 14th Dec 2008
Game Summary added to Database Never Try 27th Nov 2008
Screenshots Added Never Try 27th Nov 2008
Release Date Added to Database Never Try 26th Nov 2008
Release Date Added to Database Never Try 26th Nov 2008
Game Summary added to Database Never Try 26th Nov 2008
Screenshots Added pichu_pichu 20th Apr 2008
Box Art Added pichu_pichu 20th Apr 2008
Game Added to Database coolestguyever 20th Apr 2008

Sales History

Opinion (1)

spurgeonryan posted 06/07/2011, 04:31
Ninja Gaiden was originally on this system as well!!!
Message | Report
View all