By using this site, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our Terms of Use. Close
×

America - Front

America - Back

Review Scores

VGChartz Score
9.5
                         

Ratings

     

Alternative Names

メタルギアソリッド4 ガンズ・オブ・ザ・パトリオット

Developer

Kojima Productions

Genre

Action

Release Dates

06/12/08 Konami
06/12/08 Konami
06/12/08 Konami

Community Stats

Owners: 1,995
Favorite: 208
Tracked: 27
Wishlist: 42
Now Playing: 41
 
9

Avg Community Rating:

 

Metal gear solid 4 review - leoj

11th Apr 2009 | 1,678 views 


leo-j

User Score
9.6
                         

Presentation - 10
Gameplay - 9.0
Value - 9.0
One of the best games to grace the playstation 3 console, with stellar graphics, amazing fan service, but does it meet up to expectations?

How should I start? Well Metal gear solid 4: Guns of the Patriots one of the most highly anticipated titles for the playstation 3 has come out with a bang. The game truley does live up to the praise fanboys, and gamers alike had given to it.

- Graphics 

Metal gear solid has always been a franchise that push the playstation systems to there limits, with Metal gear solid 3 showing that the ps2 can compete with its "superior" competitors in the graphics department, Metal gear solid 4 truley shows what the playstation 3 is capable of. By far the best character models seen in a playstation 3 title to date, and stunning in game cutscenes is truley were this game shines. Sadly the environments could have used a little more work, but despite that, MGS4 can be considered one of the best looking console games in 2008 atleast in my eyes.

-Storyline

The story line revolves around Sold snake, or OLD SNAKE, as you play through you discover several new environments as well as old characters from previous metal gear games and shocking suprises, and with this I say metal gear solid 4 has one of the best story lines on the playstation 3 platform. Although it may be a little complicated at times, if your a fan , the storyline can be considered  pure fan service and could be considered the best story in video game history.

- Gameplay

 

Metal gear solid 4 continues the amazing gameplay mechanics seen in the previous metal gear games, but innovates it further. With the addition of the Camo suit which allows our hero snake to camouflage with any object, as well as the addition of the mark II allowing you to control a robot using motion controls, Metal gear solid 4 is truley unique.

 

Length:

In all of my reviews you can expect me to discuss the length of a game, the game is roughly 20-25 hours, with less than half being actual gameplay, yes the game has lots of cutscenes

-my first review leo-j


Shipping Total

6,000,000 Units
As of: May 2014

Opinion (1871)

Rob5VGC posted 03/11/2016, 07:09
We're back at this 5.99 thing, huh?
Message | Report
Shikamo posted 14/01/2016, 11:37
ops 6M! haha
Message | Report
Shikamo posted 14/01/2016, 11:36
GM! Deserves this! definitively my favorite ps3 exclusive so far ^^
Message | Report
Rob5VGC posted 07/01/2016, 02:06
Why is it at 5.99m now? You mean to tell us it was overtracked?
Message | Report
b00moscone posted 12/12/2015, 12:02
First year sales in Japan "666,006", hide yo kids.
Message | Report
korn62586 posted 01/12/2015, 07:41
This is one of the BEST games ever made!
I'm happy it'll be (probably by the end of this year) the best selling game in the Metal Gear series.
Message | Report
View all