By using this site, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our Terms of Use. Close
×

America - Front

America - Back

Review Scores

VGChartz Score
9.5
                         

Ratings

     

Alternative Names

メタルギアソリッド4 ガンズ・オブ・ザ・パトリオット

Developer

Kojima Productions

Genre

Action

Release Dates

06/12/08 Konami
06/12/08 Konami
06/12/08 Konami

Community Stats

Owners: 1,995
Favorite: 208
Tracked: 27
Wishlist: 42
Now Playing: 41
 
9

Avg Community Rating:

 

A Fitting End For A True Hero

25th May 2009 | 1,652 views 


ShadowSoldier

User Score
10
                         

Presentation - 10
Gameplay - 10
Value - 10
If this is truly Solid Snake's final chapter then he went out with a BANG!

There's not much to be said about the Metal Gear Solid franchise that hasn't been said before. With each installment players are able to find themselves immersed in an experience that they will never forget. Somehow, someway series creator Hideo Kojima has found someway to take everything that we know and love about the Metal Gear series and elevate it to a new level. In Metal Gear Solid 4 players are given a totally new and rich experience that is different yet at the same time totally familiar. Veterans of the series will note that problems and complaints that have been brought about throughout the years, have been addressed and fixed in the most brilliant of ways. Gameplay, Story, Technical problems have all been eliminated in this latest installment and we thank Mr.Kojima and his team for taking our concerns into consideration.

In MGS4 players will find themselves in the shoes of Solid (Old) Snake as he completes his final mission. The assassination of his Twin brother Liquid Snake, who is now going by the name of Liquid Ocelot. Players will see that MGS4 has taken on a more Third Person Shooter type of gameplay but the essential stealth elements of the series is still there, only this time players now have the choice on how to approach a situation. Should I go in there like Solid Snake or should I go in as a commando? The gameplay has been revamped and is now better than ever especially with the expansion on the Camo feature from MGS3 which makes a triumphant return as the new Octo-Camo suit, which allows players to take on the textures of anything in the game and allows Snake to blend in perfectly.

The only thing that is probably more impressive then the new gameplay would be the gorgeous visuals and sound that accompanies this masterpiece. MGS4 is probably the most impressive looking game ON ANY console to date. The animations of the characters are life-like that it can be scary at times. In some areas the enviornments will have an effect on your camera. If you find yourself in a dusty area you will start seeing dust particles resting on the camera lenses. The music is also something to be enjoyed as the series legendary music composer Harry Gregson-Williams makes some of his best work yet.

In all honesty I don't think you could get an understanding of how great an experience MGS4 is unless you try it out for yourself and see what all the hype is about. Hideo Kojima and Kojima Productions have outdone themselves and every other developer this gen with MGS4. Play it, Love it, Live it, Experience it.

 

-Captain Bravo


Shipping Total

6,000,000 Units
As of: May 2014

Opinion (1871)

Rob5VGC posted 03/11/2016, 07:09
We're back at this 5.99 thing, huh?
Message | Report
Shikamo posted 14/01/2016, 11:37
ops 6M! haha
Message | Report
Shikamo posted 14/01/2016, 11:36
GM! Deserves this! definitively my favorite ps3 exclusive so far ^^
Message | Report
Rob5VGC posted 07/01/2016, 02:06
Why is it at 5.99m now? You mean to tell us it was overtracked?
Message | Report
b00moscone posted 12/12/2015, 12:02
First year sales in Japan "666,006", hide yo kids.
Message | Report
korn62586 posted 01/12/2015, 07:41
This is one of the BEST games ever made!
I'm happy it'll be (probably by the end of this year) the best selling game in the Metal Gear series.
Message | Report
View all