By using this site, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our Terms of Use. Close
×

America - Front

America - Back

Review Scores

VGChartz Score
9.5
                         

Ratings

     

Alternative Names

メタルギアソリッド4 ガンズ・オブ・ザ・パトリオット

Developer

Kojima Productions

Genre

Action

Release Dates

06/12/08 Konami
06/12/08 Konami
06/12/08 Konami

Community Stats

Owners: 1,995
Favorite: 208
Tracked: 27
Wishlist: 42
Now Playing: 41
 
9

Avg Community Rating:

 

...Whoa.

24th Apr 2009 | 2,073 views 


Simulacrum

User Score
9.5
                         

Presentation - 9.5
Gameplay - 10
Value - 9.0
Snake, do your read me? Loud and clear, Otacon.

What can I say?
Metal Gear Solid made me think.I thought all games were like Mario pilipali.
No offence,but not for me
Well then my friend gave me ps1+few games. First i played Mgs 1.
Well,thats all what I played few months.

http://mgs-saga.com/graphics/SolidSnake.jpg

 

 

Metal Gear Solid 4: Guns of the Patriots is the most technically stunning video game ever made. It's also a fine example how you should tell story so nothing keeps haunting on your mind like in some of games. It tells you exactly what happend,why it happend.Fully realized, lengthy story sequences will come as no surprise to anyone who has played a Metal Gear game.

While story might be Metal Gear Solid games most interesting part, you shoulnd't forget gameplay. Metal Gear had to change its gameplay to new and realistic. The gameplay proper is familiar to fans, but it's been cleaned up and expanded. For new on series both gunplay and close-quarters combat are more satisfying. Meelee fights are tricky sometimes, when you should be holding enemy behind you might trhow him to ground..

 

Shooting mechanics are even more improved, so much so that while in other Metal Gear Solids, it was all about stealth, but now you can shoot your way out. There are a huge number of weapons to play with; so many that you'll probably finish the campaign without using many of them. Yet, quality wasn't sacrificed for quantity: Every weapon feels just right, from your handy operator sidearm that which you can customize with silencers and others, and standard issue assault rifles like M4 with silencer,laser sights more, to a powerful railgun. The standard over-the-shoulder view is fine for the most part, but sometimes you can go on with First person for headshots.

 

http://www.webwombat.com.au/games/images/metal-gear-solid-4-3.jpg

Not that you don't have all the tools for completely avoiding your enemies if you choose that route. Snake's got the basics covered: crawling, hugging walls, peeking around corners, and hanging from ledges. While in first one, it was huggin walls, in second it was hanging and in third game it was crawling, you must use all those elements on Metal Gear Solid 4. You have this Outcamo which is like camelot skin, which has % number on how easy enemies can see you. If its below 50% enemis easily see you. If it is 100%, they cant see you.Of course there is plenty on gadgets like little Metal Gear, Solid eye and others. It depens how you play, how much you have to use them. I didint use little Metal Gear once.

You'll need to keep an eye on Snake's stress levels and psyche. Though these aspects are more peripheral than health levels, they fit nicely within the plot. When Snake gets stressed (if he gets cold or encumbered, for example), his psyche gauge starts to deplete.

Some enemies are standard soldiers, though many others are wonderfully imaginative. The colossal mechanical Gekkos, for example, are unpredictable and keep you on your toes, while female operatives that pounce from wall to wall intensify an early escape scene.

http://www.webwombat.com.au/games/images/metal-gear-solid-4-10.jpg

You can choose to fight with rebels or ignore them.This brings another good thing to book.If you choose to fight with them, you don't need to be that stealthy when moving. If you ignore them, they might attack you, so you will be running from 2 armys..

There are many bosses,but I didint like boss fights that much.While you need to really use your surroundings and tactics to beat each boss, bosses just aren't that interesting.


Metal Gear Online is pretty good with great skill system, where you need to pic right skills for each fight. They level up and bring more tactic elements to online game.But it has its problems, like when you shoot enemy, it rolls, come to you, shoots you and then he dies..Laag!

http://www.digitalbattle.com/wp-content/uploads/2008/02/mgo.jpg
Metal Gear Solid 4 is goodbuy for Snake, and you might feel little down after last cutsene, but get satisfed feeling how Hideo Kojima did it again.

You Did It Again Hideo Kojima. Thank you.


Shipping Total

6,000,000 Units
As of: May 2014

Opinion (1871)

Rob5VGC posted 03/11/2016, 07:09
We're back at this 5.99 thing, huh?
Message | Report
Shikamo posted 14/01/2016, 11:37
ops 6M! haha
Message | Report
Shikamo posted 14/01/2016, 11:36
GM! Deserves this! definitively my favorite ps3 exclusive so far ^^
Message | Report
Rob5VGC posted 07/01/2016, 02:06
Why is it at 5.99m now? You mean to tell us it was overtracked?
Message | Report
b00moscone posted 12/12/2015, 12:02
First year sales in Japan "666,006", hide yo kids.
Message | Report
korn62586 posted 01/12/2015, 07:41
This is one of the BEST games ever made!
I'm happy it'll be (probably by the end of this year) the best selling game in the Metal Gear series.
Message | Report
View all