By using this site, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our Terms of Use. Close
×

America - Front

America - Back

Review Scores

Ratings

     

Alternative Names

ファイナルファンタジーIII

Developer

Matrix Software

Genre

Role-Playing

Other Versions

NES, SNES, VC, PSP, PC, All

Release Dates

11/14/06 Square Enix
08/24/06 Square Enix
05/04/07 Square Enix

Community Stats

Owners: 612
Favorite: 14
Tracked: 1
Wishlist: 15
Now Playing: 13
 
7.8

Avg Community Rating:

 

This IS your dad's final fantasy

04th Jun 2009 | 1,629 views 


Bushikao

User Score
8.0
                         

Presentation - 8.5
Gameplay - 7.5
Value - 8.0
Ultimately what this boils down to is a simple but challenging rpg that does not come close to doing anything great, but does alot of stuff pretty good. A must buy for Final Fantasy fans only.

I am one of those big Final Fantasy fans. One that started with Final Fantasy VII and has played all its successors (VIII,IX,X,X-2,XI online,XII,). I am one of the Final Fantasy "flash babies" (a fan who started being a fan only after Final Fantasy VII was released). Regardless I was so stoked to be able to experience a classic Final Fantasy made new. And while, i was not blown away by Final Fantasy III for the Ds, i was satisfied.

   First off, the graphics for this little game are cute and colorfull, and its fun to see little characters with graphical similatrities to the playstation era of Final Fantasy. Ill be sursprised if anyone is disappointed with its graphics as it is easily rankes in the top 10 for the DS, which considering how many games for the system there are, is pretty good.

    Another good thing is that all the locations and jobs are exactly like in the original game for the famicom (with the exception of a few very minor changes) meaning you can be sure your are not being cut any slack compared to the original, as it is a tough game. and after completeing some particularly challenging bosses you will have a great sence of reward.

However, there is just one serious flaw within the game that greatly detracts from the experience. The problem is that all jobs can dual wield, meaning your lvl 20 White Mage can do almost as much damage as your lvl 22 Dark Knight, and in some cases even MORE. while this doesnt matter too much against bosses, it makes the random encounters lose much of their stragety. ultimately im glad they did not fix this though as that is the way the original sopposedly is.

another potential problem is its simplicity, its not old school, it is just old, and this definatly makes it a not-for-everyone kind of game.

Regardless, the amount of polish and its simple but fun gameplay make it an enjoyable game nonetheless. A must buy for Final Fantasy die-hards, and an  interesting buy for regular Final Fantasy fans and rpg fans in general.


Shipping Total

2,300,000 Units
As of: December 31st, 2017

Opinion (22)

atma998 posted 28/04/2013, 10:40
Who would have though this game would reach 2.02M. Time for Square-Enix to bring FF5 remake to 3DS now!
Message | Report
Mordred11 posted 03/09/2011, 06:43
this sold rather well
Message | Report
Salnax posted 25/07/2011, 08:22
It's a good game with good sales, but people who focus on the chibi character designs will be shiocked by the NES-level difficulty.
Message | Report
krizalidzero posted 01/07/2011, 06:02
I was at the verge of beating it when it bugged up and I saved after... guess what happened, lol
Message | Report
Roar_Of_War posted 19/05/2010, 12:35
Got this game used at gamestop for about 10 dollars. Having a blast with it, though the difficulty seems to spike up every now and then, but so far it hasn't really been frustrating at all. It's actually refreshing to have a bit of a challenge.

Worth every penny. Great game. It seems to be a bit underrated IMO. I do wish you could save in the dungeons though. Aside from that, I don't have a problem with anything.
Message | Report
Ghazi4 posted 25/03/2010, 11:44
gonna buy this soon :P
Message | Report
View all