By using this site, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our Terms of Use. Close
×

America - Front

America - Back

Review Scores

VGChartz Score
6.8
                         

Ratings

     

Alternative Names

Animal Crossing: Let's go to the City

Machi e Ikouyo: Doubutsu no Mori

街へいこうよ どうぶつの森

Developer

Nintendo EAD

Genre

Simulation

Release Dates

11/16/08 Nintendo
11/20/08 Nintendo
12/05/08 Nintendo

Friend Code

Community Stats

Owners: 350
Favorite: 18
Tracked: 3
Wishlist: 9
Now Playing: 14
 
7.7

Avg Community Rating:

 

Animal Crossing returns!

15th Apr 2009 | 1,619 views 


sethnintendo

User Score
8.8
                         

Presentation - 8.0
Gameplay - 8.5
Value - 10
A nice addition to the Animal Crossing series that offers a few new extras to keep the Animal Crossing addicts playing even longer!

The presentation has barely changed from the original on Gamecube.  The graphics are pretty much the same and everything seems all too familiar.  However, this could either be taken as negative or positive.  It is a shame that they have taken out the NES games from the original.  However, they took them out for the Wild World version and with Nintendo providing the VC it was only given that NES games wouldn't be included on this version either.  There are more tools, items, and characters to keep one busy for a very long time.  The animal chatter seems repetitive a lot of times, but they tend to mix in a few sentences that will surprise you.  Most of the time when I am expecting something bland or repetitive from my neighbors when they surprise me with something very hilarious. 

While this game has gotten numerous mediocre review, I have found that this game offers plenty to justify the purchase.  The multiplayer with voice chat is a welcome bonus.  The city doesn't seem to offer too much, but it does put everything in one nice little place.  Instead of having to wait for Dr. Shrunk, Crazy Redd, and Katrina to appear in your town you can go visit them any day of the week in the city.  The HRA, Gracie's shop, the barber shop, and Resetti's secret hide out are also in the city along with a few other characters.  The motion controls are a decent addition.  However, I don't ever use any of them since I prefer the Wiimote + Nunchuck combination.   Although, the point and click for the item inventory screen is nice and quick.   I also like to click on where I want to cast my rod while fishing over just hitting the cast button.  For everything else I just use the action buttons.  One last nice new feature is the ability to switch your tools through the d-pad without having to bring up your inventory.  This makes switching your tools quick and easy.  Another nice addition would be the ability to store your gyroids with Brewster at The Roost.  I wasn't even aware of this option till months after playing since you have to go and drink coffee for about 7 day straight then go talk to him with a gyroid in your inventory for him to allow you store them with him.  This is a really nice plus for people that like to collect all items since there are tons of gyroids and they would take up most/all of your character's closet space. 

There is also an ability to take and save photos from in game to a SD card.  This is pretty cool addition and I usually view them in a slide show on the photo channel every month or so.  It is nice to reminisce the past experience listening to the calm music of photo channel.  I've had a few problems trying to save photos to SD card would say SD card is not in the Wii even though it was so I missed out on some pics because even I take it out and put it back in it still does not work.  My friends haven't ever experienced this problem though so maybe it is just my SD card.  I also don't like the fact that they have an option in game to erase all photos.  I accidentally erased all my photos and didn't put them on my computer a month or two into playing.  They have this option next to the save photo and I am not sure if they even ask if you are sure that you want to delete all (I'll have to check and if they don't even give you a second chance to prevent that then that is very terrible).  They should have just left this option out to avoid any accidental erases.

Pretty much you either love Animal Crossing or you hate it.  Some people might have grown tired from the series, but there are still plenty of us that can't get enough of this game.  I may just be a sucker for games that let you collect a bunch of furniture, fish, dig for fossils, catch bugs, upgrade my house, and get rich!  If you haven't played Animal Crossing in awhile then this is a perfect chance to get back into the mix and meet some new friends online!  If you love Animal Crossing then you probably already have this game!  If you aren't into these sort of games then at the most I would just rent it and test it out.  However, be aware that it may take some time to start to actually reap the rewards this game has to offer!   After a few months of playing it I am still working hard on my character and town!


Shipping Total

4,320,000 Units
As of: December 2014

Opinion (178)

atma998 posted 27/07/2013, 03:43
Now 4.46M, wonder why this game do not sell half numbers of the portable titles?
Message | Report
piggychan posted 01/09/2012, 02:52
amazing. Was hooked on the DS game many years ago.. and just got into starting this from scratch.. love it still. even tho it is basically the same game the odd additions added here and there are enjoyed by me !!
Message | Report
atma998 posted 27/12/2011, 09:04
4.26M
Message | Report
fedfed posted 30/10/2011, 11:12
since i bought this game only last Xmas I am only playing my first Halloween celebration, so much fun... love teh furniture that Jack is giving me. Bt sadly looks like no one is still playing and want to swap city codes...
Message | Report
spurgeonryan posted 01/07/2011, 05:17
I should get this game, but I just do not think that I will play it.
Message | Report
spurgeonryan posted 08/06/2011, 03:39
post
Message | Report
View all