By using this site, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our Terms of Use. Close
×

America - Front

America - Back

Review Scores

VGChartz Score
9.0
                         

Ratings

     

Alternative Names

Dairantou Smash Brothers SPECIAL

大乱闘スマッシュブラザーズ SPECIAL

Developer

Bandai Namco Games

Genre

Fighting

Release Dates

12/07/18 Nintendo
12/07/18 Nintendo
12/07/18 Nintendo

Community Stats

Owners: 91
Favorite: 18
Tracked: 7
Wishlist: 8
Now Playing: 26
 
9.1

Avg Community Rating:

 


bluemlittlem

User Score
9.7
                         

Presentation - 9.5
Gameplay - 10
Value - 9.5
Super Smash Bros. Ultimate is an Incredible Game, on Par if not better than Brawl, and is the Ultimate Game to play with your Friends. I love it!

The game starts with an Intro with the "Lifelight" Theme. I like this theme, and the intro works well with the song. Not the best Smash Bros. Intro but Definitely not the worst.

After this you press any button to head to the menu (or watch the handy How To Play Video), you get your Advanced Spirit (more about that in a bit.), and choose your mode.

Smash
In Smash mode you have multiple options. press Smash and you will be able to play your conventional, bigger, better than ever Fighting Match ups against CPU's or, more likely, all your friends in a battle that can be done any way you like with any rule set you want. Speaking of which, you pick your rule sets and stages BEFORE you choose your fighter. Up to 8 of you and your friends can play at once, so have fun!

Smash also has other modes such as Tourney/Tournament Mode, where 16-32 of you and either a bunch of CPU's, or your friends fight to see who is the best of all. Also Special Smash, Where you either fight in a crazy 300% battle, Turn on all the transformations and see who wins, or fight an Iron Man in the Dynamic Smashdown Mode. Even a Squad Strike Mode, where you choose 3 or 5 of both of your best fighters and see who is the best, or create teams of 3 or 5 and pick your mains in a crew battle! There is lots of fun in Smash mode to behold! I love Modes like Smashdown and Tourney the most, they have lot's of fun in it.

Spirits
Spirits are Crazy fights that make a good mix between Trophies, Equipment in Smash 4, and Stickers in Brawl. Specifically, Spirit Board is similar to Master Orders in Smash 4 but with quite a lot of homages to other Games thrown in. It's Fun! You do a fight against a spirit, try to win, and then collect the spirit. There are 4 types of Spirits (from lowest to highest: Novice, Advanced, Ace, Legend), and you can level up their power level, and they can level up higher the better the type of spirit. All of the spirits are based off of characters from dozens, even hundreds of different games. You can use these spirits in Offline Battles with you friends. You can also buy them in the shop, Level them up in the Gym, Train new Traits to them, or Even let them go on Adventures! The Spirits mode Runs Deep, and from here, it only runs deeper

Adventure Mode
World of Light is awesome! The 20-25 hours that are in this more are well worth it, and i want to play more of it still. It took me 3 weeks and 20 hours to Beat the game alone, and after that, i still haven't beaten every spirit! The game's Activities, Shops, and Skill Tree are Also Super Fun. I won't Spoil the End, but the whole finale has a lot to behold, and you should play this mode the whole way through to find out!

Online and Others
Online is a solid mode and while it was problematic in 1.1.0, it is better now. Battle Arenas are Particularly Great.
Vault runs pretty deep as usual. Masterpieces and Trophies are gone, but I could see Masterpieces return in a DLC or an Update, and Spirits replaced Trophies pretty much. Music, Replays and Challenges are always fun to run through, too.
Classic Mode and other Games and More things are quite Fun. Classic Mode's One route per fighter is Awesome, Mob Smash is just as good as Multi Man Smash ever was, fairly good, and Training is a lot better than it was before, and i like that.

Verdict
I love this Game. Super Smash Bros. Ultimate has so much to offer with Dozens of hours of Gameplay on your own, and Hundreds with your Friends. One of the best games of 2018, and there is still more to come in 2019 and early 2020. The game is so great, that I don't care if the next one takes 10 years to come out...


Shipping Total

25,710,000 Units
As of: September 30th, 2021

Opinion (27)

Kakadu18 posted 11/11/2021, 11:42
Masterpiece, deserves all of the success.
Message | Report
Marth posted 04/11/2021, 08:33
+940k in the last quarter
Message | Report
Marth posted 05/08/2021, 08:18
+930k in the last quarter
Message | Report
Marth posted 06/05/2021, 08:59
+990k in the last quarter
Message | Report
Marth posted 01/02/2021, 07:17
+1.74M in the last quarter
Message | Report
Marth posted 05/11/2020, 08:13
+1.11M in the last quarter. Now over 20M
Message | Report
View all