By using this site, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our Terms of Use. Close
×

America - Front

America - Back

Review Scores

VGChartz Score
9.6
                         

Ratings

     

Alternative Names

スーパーマリオギャラクシー

Developer

Nintendo EAD Tokyo

Genre

Platform

Release Dates

11/12/07 Nintendo
11/01/07 Nintendo
11/16/07 Nintendo

Community Stats

Owners: 2,491
Favorite: 248
Tracked: 17
Wishlist: 33
Now Playing: 35
 
9.3

Avg Community Rating:

 


Ninpanda

User Score
9.7
                         

Presentation - 9.7
Gameplay - 10.0
Value - 9.4
A absolutely gorgeous video game, that takes advantage of the Wii Remote flawlessly, Looks amazing and most importantly: Plays amazing. Miss this game and you'll never rest in peace!

Now... Where do I start?Undecided So much has been said already about this masterpiece, it's gonna be pretty damn hard to try reviewing this game. Well, here goes...

Let us start by saying that the control is PERFECT! I really mean it. The only 3D platformer that MIGHT have the same feeling of complete control over your character... is Super Mario Galaxy 2. I'll admit that in Super Mario 64, the controls felt a little... Slippery. (Still a revolutionary game...) But in Galaxy, the controls are flawless. Try it out yourself, if you don't believe me!

The most common reason for HD fanboy rage, are the graphics. And while the decision to NOT make the system a graphic-whore's wet dream may have cost Nintendo their friendship with the big third-party companies like Capcom, most of Nintendo's own games don't need better graphics. Super Mario Galaxy is a perfect example. The clever art style of the game made it look just as pretty as any game on the 360 or PS3 at the time of it's release.

The Soundtrack? AB-SOLUTE-LY BRILLIANT! It's been over 2 years, since Galaxy was released and I'm still humming many of it's songs, like Gusty Garden Galaxy, Cosmic Mario's theme and Good Egg Galaxy. No matter the level, the soundtrack is AMAZING!Smile

There's a plenty of variety to ensure you won't get bored. Whether you're surfing on a Manta Ray or balancing on a glass ball and trying desperately not to fall to your death, you're gonna have a great time. All of the power-ups are awesome and feel great to use. (Although I would've liked to see a little more of Spring and Boo Mario.Frown) If you just go for the 60 stars to kick Bowser's bawlz, you're gonna have a great time from beginning to end. But if you're gonna try to get all 120 stars with Mario, it might get a tad repetitive, especially with the Purple Coin Challenges popping out behind every corner. But it's all worth it, because SMG is a freaking beast!Laughing And if you're still begging for more like I was, there's a Lil' treat in the end after you get all the 120 stars. (But thanks to the wonders of the interwebz, pretty much everyone knows it already.Laughing)

Conclusion:

Perfect controls, excellent graphics that are almost on par with many high-profile HD games, brilliant music (that will NOT GET OUT OF YOUR HEAD!!!!Yell ) and a crapload of stuff to do. Best game of the 2000s.

 


Shipping Total

12,800,000 Units
As of: March 31st, 2020

Opinion (823)

Oceanblue posted 01/04/2021, 06:27
Definitely my favorite game of all time, I have beaten it four times now. Bought the 3D All Stars collection just for this one game alone, wasn't disappointed. The game still holds up even today, truly a masterpiece.
Message | Report
S.Peelman posted 30/10/2015, 01:22
Nintendo says 12.59m as of september 30.

Lower than Brawl again now, but yeah, still undertracked by at least a million.
Message | Report
Clyde32 posted 07/01/2015, 09:37
Yeah, he's right, this is undertracked by 1 million.
Message | Report
Lynx_7 posted 12/12/2014, 01:14
Undertracked by over a million copies. I was pretty surprised to discover this sold more than Brawl according to Nintendo. Definetely deserved.
Message | Report
ljlrj posted 25/06/2014, 11:54
http://www.nintendo.co.jp/ir/en/sales/software/wii.html
>:l very heavyundertrack
Message | Report
S.Peelman posted 18/05/2014, 12:57
Seems pretty heavily under tracked indeed. Nintendo has it at 12.22m as of April. Should at least be nearing 12m in real life by now. If it is at 12m, that means it finally overtook Super Mario 64 as the best selling 3D Mario game!
Message | Report
View all