By using this site, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our Terms of Use. Close
×

America - Front

America - Back

Review Scores

VGChartz Score
9.6
                         

Ratings

     

Alternative Names

スーパーマリオギャラクシー

Developer

Nintendo EAD Tokyo

Genre

Platform

Release Dates

11/12/07 Nintendo
11/01/07 Nintendo
11/16/07 Nintendo

Community Stats

Owners: 2,492
Favorite: 247
Tracked: 17
Wishlist: 33
Now Playing: 35
 
9.3

Avg Community Rating:

 

Super Mario= YES! Perfect Mario=NO!

19th Apr 2009 | 1,632 views 


Chibilobolib

User Score
9.1
                         

Presentation - 9.5
Gameplay - 9.5
Value - 9.0
When I’m writing this I feel like I’m being too strict. The game is so good but there are some flaws that need pointing out.

Back when this game was released, I was excited. In my view, it was the game to get on the first Christmas with my first home console. And looking back I was right to be exited. It’s a classic Nintendo game, the stuff that I like.

All throughout the game there are bits of the game that have incredible quality that jump out at you and put you in awe and shock. The first time when Mario lands on good egg galaxy is a magical moment that I think all wii owners should experience. Other moments include when Mario flies away from an exploding volcano, the hungry lumas and the final fight with Bowser. These are just a few moments out of dozens that only Nintendo could create.

The soundtrack is just superb; the orchestra works really well with Mario jumping around all over the place. Adding the oomph of the orchestra was definitely needed. It’s quite hard to see the soundtrack working without the orchestra. The most important factor of this game is how fun it is. Thankfully it is very, very fun. Out of all the Mario games I have played, only super Mario world tops it.

And while all of this is simply brilliant, there are flaws. Unfortunately it can’t keep up with the standards that the best parts of the game have. Gold leaf galaxy is just an inverted version of another galaxy previously seen earlier in the game. If this was going to be the best ever Mario game there would have to be more ideas put into the game. Some stars feel like they have just been put there for the sake of there needing to be 120 core stars in the game. (With one star unlocked at the very end of the game).

While the quality of the stars is uneven, I found myself wanting to go on and not wanting the game to finish. Once you complete the game as Mario you get to play as Luigi. While the game is the game apart from him being a bit faster, it's worth playing as him just to see the encounter of Luigi seeing a clone of himself for the first time. 

The Multiplayer is quite a good idea, but I wanted more. I can’t help feeling how good the purple coin races could have been if they were put into a split screen race, making the multiplayer competitive instead of being just co-operative.

Boss fights are the only things that don’t appeal to me in Mario games. While there are some very good ones in this game, you have to fight Bowser repeatedly and you have to kill him the same way over and over. I’d liked there to have been more effort put into these.

So overall, it's a game I will have fond memories for a very long time. It's hard to see any other platformer on the wii getting close, apart from Mario galaxy 2 of course Wink

 


Shipping Total

12,800,000 Units
As of: March 31st, 2020

Opinion (847)

Marth posted 10/05/2022, 09:15
no further update as of March 31, 2022
Message | Report
Marth posted 06/05/2021, 08:06
09/2020 - 03/2021: No change
Message | Report
Oceanblue posted 01/04/2021, 06:27
Definitely my favorite game of all time, I have beaten it four times now. Bought the 3D All Stars collection just for this one game alone, wasn't disappointed. The game still holds up even today, truly a masterpiece.
Message | Report
Marth posted 07/05/2020, 08:10
+10k
Message | Report
S.Peelman posted 30/10/2015, 01:22
Nintendo says 12.59m as of september 30.

Lower than Brawl again now, but yeah, still undertracked by at least a million.
Message | Report
Clyde32 posted 07/01/2015, 09:37
Yeah, he's right, this is undertracked by 1 million.
Message | Report
View all