By using this site, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our Terms of Use. Close
×

America - Front

America - Back

Review Scores

VGChartz Score
9.6
                         

Ratings

     

Alternative Names

スーパーマリオギャラクシー 2

Developer

Nintendo EAD Tokyo

Genre

Platform

Release Dates

05/23/10 Nintendo
05/27/10 Nintendo
06/11/10 Nintendo

Community Stats

Owners: 1,450
Favorite: 183
Tracked: 30
Wishlist: 207
Now Playing: 54
 
9.2

Avg Community Rating:

 

You got a great star!

31st May 2010 | 1,624 views 


GuyDuke

User Score
10
                         

Presentation - 9.5
Gameplay - 10
Value - 9.5
"30 years of stomping Goombas? Overtake the original Galaxy? Not a big deal for me, heh?" - Mario

It is always something crucial for developers to give the player a completely new feeling while dealing with the not-so-broken Mario formula. For this true sequel ever, EAD Tokyo has created a completely out-of-this-world adventure for our favorite plumber, with even more puzzles, star seeking and powerups.

As the point of being a sequel, Galaxy 2 only takes the best from its predecessor and power it up with some Super Mushroom to craft a magnificient piece of art. The combination of 2D and 3D makes you remember the best of Mario: what he has done so well in the past to mesmerize us, and what he is doing in the future to still charm us.

Starship Mario is probably the best idea ever added in a Mario game. While removing the annoying hub world, this brand new space ship embarks numerous inhabitants that make the life blossom during Mario's space adventure.

The most unique feeling Galaxy 2 can give is the sense of wonder regarding to the deepness of the environments, especially how the worlds are designed. Suited with sci-fi music, the world maps are probably the best among any space-themed game, and so well, the soundtrack sparkles even more than the one presented in the first Galaxy.

What Super Mario Galaxy 2 accomplished in my heart is to crush away a game that I thought would never be replaced in my heart anytime, but since it's a Mario game, we still see that feeling fresh after 30 years in gaming is not such a big deal for our beloved Italian.


Shipping Total

7,410,000 Units
As of: December 2014

Opinion (195)

Keybladewielder posted 26/10/2017, 07:08
This game is a masterpiece
Message | Report
Junkrixx posted 06/12/2015, 02:46
7.5 M!!! Yes!
Message | Report
Junkrixx posted 20/09/2015, 01:20
Nearly 70k this year for the moment!
Message | Report
Ryng posted 23/03/2015, 01:47
My favourite exclusive for Wii.
Message | Report
Munchies posted 04/02/2015, 11:24
Why doesn't this have a 100% attach rate?
Message | Report
drake_tolu posted 09/07/2014, 02:37
7,500,000 lifetime, maybe 8,000,000.
Fantastich game, better exclusive for Wii U.
Message | Report
View all