By using this site, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our Terms of Use. Close
×

America - Front

America - Back

Review Scores

VGChartz Score
8.4
                         

Ratings

   

Alternative Names

プリンス・オブ・ペルシャ

Developer

Ubisoft Montreal

Genre

Adventure

Other Versions

SNES, GG, GB, SCD, GEN, MS, X360, PSN, NES, Series, All

Release Dates

12/02/08 Ubisoft
01/22/09 Ubisoft
12/05/08 Ubisoft

Community Stats

Owners: 416
Favorite: 10
Tracked: 5
Wishlist: 11
Now Playing: 4
 
7.9

Avg Community Rating:

 

A diamond in the rough

10th Apr 2009 | 1,618 views 


Rainbird

User Score
9.3
                         

Presentation - 10
Gameplay - 9.0
Value - 8.0
Very few games will match up to the experience this Prince of Persia game can give you, if you let it captivate you.

Ubisoft has taken the Prince of Persia series in a new direction with this game, as it has completely left behind the characters, story etc. of the old games.

Instead we have a game about a person who is in fact not a prince, but an adventurer who lives as he pleases, tending to his ego.

In a sandstorm, this guy becomes lost looking for his donkey, and ends up meeting Elika, who is being chased. Moments later you are on your way to stop an evil god from escaping into the great world.

You are platforming around the worlds four main areas, fighting off various small time soldiers and the occational boss fight.

And I think both combat and the platforming is really good, and while it may get a little tedious a couple of times in the game, I think it works really well. Neither is perfect though, but what helps offset this, is the "You can't die"-mechanic. This is because Elika will save you, no matter what happens.

This actually keeps the game flowing much better than many other games, and if you are willing to accept it, it will provide you with a great experience. And at the same time, Elika never gets in your way, she is probably one of the most well executed companions to have been in a game for quite som time.

It reminds me of Flower, in that it removes alot of the negative pressure in the game, and this will of course be to the dislike of some, but I really like it.

The game has some outstanding graphics, with the most detailed celshading I have ever seen used. This makes the game stand out, as the game almost looks like a painting, and at the same time shows you great vistas. The art direction and the game engine come together to make a game that is truly a feast for the eyes, it really is outstandingly beautiful.

At the same time, finding light seeds (which I wont tell you what is) actually encourages exploring in the game, and I often felt that collecting these light seeds was actually fun, and I would try to get as many as I could reasonably get my hands on.

The game also gives you a lot of conversations between the main character (who remains nameless) and Elika, which again is something I really like. You get to know the characters extremely well, and you get to care about both of them (I did anyway). Much of this is optional, but I wouldn't have missed any of it. The dialog is well performed by all voice actors in the game.

And while the story is simple, it is also very good, and with the depth of knowledge you get about the characters, it becomes even better.

The score for the game only adds to the experience, the ambience created mixes into the rest of the experience really well, it really is great.

There is one little annoyance I want to point out, which is, when turning something like a handle in the game, you turn the analog stick in one direction to turn the wheel, and many times, turning the stick in the same direction as before will make the wheel turn back into its previous position. How the hell did this ever slip past Q&A?!


Sales History

Total Sales
0.03m
Japan
0.47m
NA
0.41m
Europe
0.17m
Others
1.07m
Total
1 n/a 75,104 39,088 26,283 140,475
2 n/a 57,100 50,195 26,808 134,103
3 n/a 60,481 61,779 31,266 153,526
4 n/a 36,726 50,469 23,304 110,499
5 n/a 16,738 35,015 14,626 66,379
6 n/a 9,492 21,482 8,836 39,810
7 n/a 6,356 10,217 4,528 21,101
8 7,486 4,958 6,524 3,270 22,238
9 2,678 4,392 4,166 2,298 13,534
10 1,718 4,058 3,373 1,950 11,099

Opinion (98)

dart1250 posted 24/11/2011, 10:22
I like the game's history
Message | Report
dsage01 posted 22/07/2011, 11:55
Worst game in the trilogy. AC took over prince of persia now.
Message | Report
Galvanizer posted 29/12/2010, 06:40
Holy shit. This game didn't even hit 1 million worldwide?! Epic fail.
Message | Report
homer posted 08/11/2010, 02:58
This game sucked compared to the sands of time trilogy.
Message | Report
A203D posted 27/05/2010, 10:18
I loved this game, i mean all games are repititive, and i think the level design is really good. the gameplay's a lot of fun. great acting, great story, just wish they made a new and improved sequel.
Message | Report
radha posted 25/03/2010, 05:06
i havent been able to sell this PoS to anyone, i could even trade it for Assasin's creed one, what a crappy game, boring, repetitive, empty, stupid and easy, no not even easy it plays by i self.
Message | Report
View all