By using this site, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our Terms of Use. Close
×

America - Front

America - Back

Review Scores

VGChartz Score
8.6
                         

Ratings

     

Alternative Names

flowery

フラアリー

Developer

thatgamecompany

Genre

Adventure

Other Versions

PS4, PSV

Release Dates

02/12/09 Sony Computer Entertainment
05/27/10 Sony Computer Entertainment
02/12/09 Sony Computer Entertainment

Community Stats

Owners: 961
Favorite: 34
Tracked: 2
Wishlist: 7
Now Playing: 13
 
8.6

Avg Community Rating:

 

Soaring to new heights

08th Jan 2010 | 1,615 views 


Rainbird

User Score
9.0
                         

Presentation - 9.5
Gameplay - 8.5
Value - 7.0
Flower is a masterpiece, which shows that videogames and tranquility can in fact go hand in hand.

*Disclaimer*
I go by the same scoring scale as Edge and Eurogamer. Where in my older reviews, a mediocre game would have been around 7, now this will be 5. I will also only go by whole numbers in my final score.
*/Disclaimer*

The discussion of whether or not videogames can be considered a form of art or not has been going on for some time, but there are never a lot of examples to support the idea of videogames being art. Even so, Flower remains one of the most, if not THE most prominent example of this.

As I am a firm believer that this game must be experienced, I will avoid going into great detail, as I do not wish to spoil anything, even mildly.

 

Presentation wise, Flower is nearly perfect. The sights can be breathtaking, and you will rarely feel like anything you see in the game is anything less than staggeringly beautiful. There are virtually no technical issues to speak off, as the game maintains a rocksteady framerate, with no graphical glitches of any kind.

The musical score is memorable and serves to elevate the game even further. Without the music, Flower would be much less of a masterpiece.

The gameplay is quite simple. You use the motioncontrols of your PS3 controller to control the wind and move a flower petal around to other flowers and thus increase the amount of petals you move around, with a nice amount of twists to this mechanic so that you never get tired of it.

I will only say this about the story: It's there, even if you don't notice it at first, and it will have you feeling emotions that few videogames ever evoke.

The storytelling in the game is superb, with the way it conveys feeling, but never actually tells you the story.

All of these things come together, and create an experience like no other, and the game's only real fault is a lack of value when compared to equally priced games. But I would still give this game a grand recommendation, even at double the price point.

Go play it. :-)


Sales History

Opinion (27)

AndrewWK posted 03/05/2012, 09:03
decent game
Message | Report
Crona posted 01/08/2011, 12:42
Piece of shit got too pretentious.
Message | Report
Dahum posted 09/05/2011, 07:24
Flower the best spiritual advanture that i interacted with on the PS3;)
Message | Report
halil23 posted 18/05/2010, 11:29
Such a beautiful game! Don't know if I should call this a game or should it be called a "medication for relaxing/calming".
Message | Report
binary solo posted 03/05/2010, 01:41
Love this game.
Message | Report
banished4eva posted 24/04/2010, 06:32
OMG!! FLOWER!!!
Message | Report
View all