By using this site, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our Terms of Use. Close
×

America - Front

America - Back

Review Scores

VGChartz Score
9.3
                         

Ratings

   

Alternative Names

メトロイドプライム

Developer

Retro Studios

Genre

Shooter

Release Dates

11/17/02 Nintendo
02/28/03 Nintendo
03/21/03 Nintendo

Community Stats

Owners: 1,029
Favorite: 121
Tracked: 6
Wishlist: 6
Now Playing: 11
 
9.2

Avg Community Rating:

 

All the awesomeness of Metroid in 3D.

06th Jul 2009 | 1,675 views 


LordTheNightKnight

User Score
9.5
                         

Presentation - 9.5
Gameplay - 9.5
Value - 10
Really, if you like Metroid and you don't mind the 3D perspective, or you like 3D action adventure games, this is a game you should get.

This is the first Gamecube game I got, and it's still just as good as when I first picked up the demos in the stores.

Story:

Samus investigates a planet the space pirates are mining for some super substance from a meteor that crashed there.

But honestly, the story is mostly optional. Aside from the scans, the story is probably the thinnest of the trilogy. Yet if you think that's a bad thing, you obviously haven't payed that much attention to the games before it. Even Super Metroid only had a few scenes directly about the story (but were still damn good nonetheless).

Here the focus was on getting the feel of the series in 3D, and in that they made the right choice. You can get as much story as you want by reading the scans, or just skip to the adventuring. That really helps the replay value. I'd give it an 8 for that if there was a scoring for it here.

Presentation:

Although objects often have a blocky look due to polygon count, that's made up for by great art direction and a smooth 60 frames per second.

Sound is also cool. I'm not an audiophile, so I don't care much for the technical aspects of the sound as much as if I like what I'm hearing.

Here you get lots of cool sci-fi sounds. Even the speed ball charging has a sound.

All in all, it's a solid technical package that is also a joy to look at. 9.5

Gameplay:

In terms of layout, the controls are closer to console FPS. In terms of actual function, the controls are closer to 3D Zelda games. This design philosophy ensures the gameplay is as smooth as possible with the perspective.

Aside from the artifacts being used to stretch out the game time (which I'm certain some would have complained about, despite the fact that the game is longer than the 2D games unless you sequence break), the game is Metroid in 3D. 9.5

Value:

It's worth full price, but at $20 for the Gamecube version, or $30 with the other games in the upcoming Wii trilogy, it's worth every penny. 10

Overall:

It's Metroid in 3D. If that hasn't sold you, I don't know what else will. For me, it's damn great. 9.5


Shipping Total

2,840,000 Units
As of: December 2014

Opinion (63)

Karolek12 posted 10/12/2018, 05:23
ExplodingBlock, This games sold better in Japan than in European countries. And for sure Japan is more west than you think. Music, movies, games - they love ''dark'' and mature things even more than Americans which like ''kawaii'' more than Japanese. US is more childish. So stop saying bullshits 'cause u don't know how pop culture in Japan looks like.
Message | Report
Keybladewielder posted 19/11/2018, 09:40
This game is so amazing
Message | Report
ExplodingBlock posted 31/01/2015, 03:01
Why does Japan hate anything that isn't kawaii?
Message | Report
leedlelee posted 19/01/2015, 07:07
Skullwalker, you're in luck...
Message | Report
Skullwaker posted 10/01/2015, 06:10
I need to play this. Like, now. I'd love for the Big N to release an HD remaster or at least put it on the VC but if I have to I'll track down the Trilogy. I've heard nothing but great things.
Message | Report
DieAppleDie posted 16/09/2012, 02:01
Brilliant masterpiece
love the soundtrack so much
Message | Report
View all