By using this site, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our Terms of Use. Close
×

America - Front

America - Back

Review Scores

VGChartz Score
9.4
                         

Ratings

     

Alternative Names

ゴッド・オブ・ウォー III

Developer

SCEA Santa Monica Studio

Genre

Action

Release Dates

03/16/10 Sony Computer Entertainment
03/25/10 Sony Computer Entertainment
03/19/10 Sony Computer Entertainment

Community Stats

Owners: 1,145
Favorite: 192
Tracked: 42
Wishlist: 142
Now Playing: 48
 
9.2

Avg Community Rating:

 

God of War III is the best GoW experience to date

07th Apr 2010 | 1,663 views 


drakesfortune

User Score
9.6
                         

Presentation - 10
Gameplay - 10
Value - 9.5
Wow, the visuals and the scale of this game are just incredible. This is the least frustrating, and hence most fun God of War game Sony has put out.

God of War III is a superb example of how this action genre should be done.  Finally, an action game where frustration is at a minimum, yet it's still challenging.  Maybe I'm just getting better at games like this, but I really felt like the experience was finely balanced. 

The thing that I love about God of War games is that they do such a wonderful job of breaking up the action with interesting puzzles, and this GoW has the best puzzles, and the best pace of any game like it.  That puzzle to action ratio really helps pull you through the game, and never want to stop.  Just when you tire of the action, they throw a massive 3 dimensional puzzle at you that is engaging and fun. 

Visually, this game is at the top of all games.  I hesitate to say it looks better than Uncharted 2, only because what Uncharted 2 does with the camera puts a lot more demand on the console, but I can say without doubt that the character model of Kratos is the most impressive character model I've ever seen in a game.  The way his skin looks, and I normally don't care about stuff like this, but the way it looks is incredible.  It's so detailed, and real looking.  Plus the lighting in this game is something to behold.  It's just such a beautiful game.  A lot people heard David Jaffe's quote that this game looks like a painting come to life, and that's true in many parts.  There's one particular section later on in the game, that I think Jaffe saw when he made that comment.  When that section hits, and you'll know when it does, I think you'll agree.  That section truly looks like a painting coming to life.  It was just gorgeous. 

I've heard some complaints about the story, and for all of the game up until the end, I didn't get those complaints.  The story is quite good.  My only complaint is that at the very end things fall apart a bit.  I won't say more than this, I wish it were a little better defined and clear at the end.  I'm pretty sure I get it, but I wish they'd just tell me exactly what I want to know.  I wish I could be more specific, but I don't want to ruin it for anyone.

The only thing I missed from the previous games was the time elements in God of War II.  I had a great time with those elements and the puzzles they built around them.  That said, there are seemingly more elements to mess with in this game that also make for great puzzles, and the weapons are actually fun to mess around with this time.  For the last 1/3rd of the game I used a weapon other than the main weapon.  That's the first time in a GoW game that I've given more than one or two battles a chance with a non-standard weapon.  It's apparent they put more effort into making the other weapons interesting and fun to use.

GoW III is a great thrill ride, a superb action game, with truly massive scale that will blow you away.  I strongly recommend people check this game out.


Shipping Total

7,600,000 Units
As of: May 21st, 2019

Opinion (849)

thewastedyouth posted 24/12/2013, 04:50
look at the Japan sales, man what the heck do people play there
Message | Report
TrevDaRev posted 04/10/2013, 12:31
Damn! This still hasn't been adjusted?
Message | Report
legendarysaiyanbroly posted 16/08/2013, 02:44
@ frozone: the story isn't great but is sure better than average, the game itself is EXCELLENT (best hack n' slash of this generation), the graphics r unbelievably gorgeous (nothing else comes close), GOW3 is ridiculously undertracked, and u're very much full of it. >=)
Message | Report
Frozone posted 04/08/2012, 03:02
The storys awful and the game is average.
Message | Report
jayman1 posted 21/07/2012, 01:30
Just picked this up. GOW3 is killa,killa story with stellar graphics! GOW 3,uncharted, gran turismo and killzone have the best graphics for ps3 exclusives .Story is incredible like uncharted and resistance series.This game alone is just a work of art probably one of ps3's best games this gen.
Message | Report
dsage01 posted 27/06/2012, 01:30
It is also undertracked in the USA for the first 3 weeks by over 200k. NPD has first 3 weeks at 1.1 million in the U.S.A. and VGC only has it at 900k. VGC sales are never accurate
Message | Report
View all