By using this site, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our Terms of Use. Close
×

America - Front

America - Back

Review Scores

VGChartz Score
9.1
                         

Ratings

     

Alternative Names

Heavy Rain Kokoro no Kishimu Toki

Heavy Rain 心の軋むとき

Developer

Quantic Dream

Genre

Adventure

Other Versions

PS4, All

Release Dates

02/23/10 Sony Computer Entertainment
02/18/10 Sony Computer Entertainment
02/26/10 Sony Computer Entertainment

Community Stats

Owners: 770
Favorite: 122
Tracked: 36
Wishlist: 96
Now Playing: 34
 
8.8

Avg Community Rating:

 

Heavy Rain - Review

28th Feb 2010 | 1,666 views 


Wagram

User Score
9.3
                         

Presentation - 9.5
Gameplay - 9.0
Value - 9.0
The next step in video games? Maybe, Maybe not. But all I know is that everything I did. I did for love.

When this game was first announced I always kept an eye on it. There were times when I felt that I wasn't going to get it, and then those where I thought I needed to get it. Reason being is that I put an information barrier around me and the game. But the "For Love" Trailer really solidified my purchase. I am really glad that I decided to purchase the game.

 

Story:

You play as four main characters. I did feel as if one of the specific characters had a little more story priority than the others though. But Quantic Dream did a good job at spreading the story out between the four. The story is actually pretty good. This isn't a story where you have to save the world from destruction or anything like that. This story centers around one of the main characters son and trying to save him from the Origami killer.

The story has some good twists and ultimately a good ending. I will say that I honestly did not like the ending. But it wasn't that the ending was bad. It just wasn't the ending I wanted. It was very well thought out and executed nicely.

Characters:

The characters were all quite nice to play as. I had my favorite characters. The female one being my favorite. They're a pretty good cast of characters overall. I actually felt bad about some of the things you could do to them throughout the story. It is possible to let them die but the game will just continue until you reach the end. When you play through the game the first time I always wanted what was best for my characters and some scenes got pretty intense and I actually feared that they were going to die. Luckily I got them all alive on my 1st.

If you end up going for the platinum, you may want to turn your sound off if you are repeating certain scenes. I saw some scenes well over ten times, and it got a little annoying after awhile.

Gameplay:

The gameplay is similar to that of which you would see in GoW. The game is mostly done by the use of the Quick Time Event mechanics. I know some of you are like, "what is the fun in that"? Trust me it is good. Quantic did a nice execution on how they are used. Though I am slightly disappointed on how they did their walking mechanics. Occasionally I would get stuck on an object or a wall and would have to fight with the game to go the right direction. It wasn't enough to be a game breaker though. It only happened once and awhile.

Graphics: They are really nice, but they aren't what some people were boasting about about a year ago. Though they did really good with the eyes I think. They looked really real. Some things did look a little fake and flat. But overall they are still pretty, especially the lead female character!

Music:

The music fits the games setting really well. and I noticed that in the game you hear the same song just about all the time. It isn't a bad one and I actually didn't notice it until my 2nd playthrough. I wish they would have had more songs, but for what they gave us. They were good. Some songs made me feel as if I had this tremendous weight on my shoulders. Like I had to do something quick or I was either going to die or something else bad was going to happen to me.

Technial Issues:

On my first playthrough of the game I only experienced a few issues. I froze one time, and then the next time I got stuck and my character would just not move at all. The second time I got some lossed audio, one chapter would not load until I restarted my PS3 and I froze as soon as I got my all endings trophy. There was also screen tearing which really sucks because it can mess up the mood sometimes. I really don't understand why developers think that they should release a game when it has this issue. The best thing I can say is do not get the patch until they do another one. and hope for the best! I did good my first time around.

Other Notes:

I usually do not replay games. I hardly ever do. But for some reason I felt compelled to get every ending in Heavy Rain. I did end up getting them all and getting my 2nd shiny Platinum Trophy. The next one I get will be Final Fantasy XIII! I don't know what it was about Heavy Rain, but I just felt that the devs deserved my time and effort to explore their game to the fullest. They took a huge risk, and no matter the sales of the game. I think they succeeded. Also I think that the voice acting was well done. But the sync could have been slightly better.

This game is a must buy if you are a fan of thrillers or even a damn gamer in general. It is a nice change from the 1000 FPS games we get per month.

 

One last thing. This is something I thought to myself the whole time I played Heavy Rain. It isn't a direct spoiler to Heavy Rain. But I will block it out so certain people don't have to see it if they don't want to.

If there was one thing that the Saw movie series taught me. It was to follow the rules. Don't forget the rules.


Shipping Total

3,000,000 Units
As of: August 2013

Opinion (430)

Mr Puggsly posted 04/01/2019, 06:52
Jason!
Message | Report
thewastedyouth posted 15/04/2014, 03:26
Japan sales

man wtf are they even playing in that country
Message | Report
Turkish posted 10/01/2014, 06:54
Undertracked, it passed 3 million back in august 2013. https://twitter.com/GdeFondaumiere/status/369440406808719360
Message | Report
z101 posted 24/10/2013, 02:10
A boring interactive movie with a B-Movie storyline. But it has pretty graphics, so some people bought it.
Message | Report
JustThatGamer posted 21/10/2013, 04:18
It's an okay/good interactive experience, nothing special. Impressive sales, it's under-tracked quite a bit too.
Message | Report
zumnupy10 posted 26/07/2013, 10:01
@WagnerPaiva - It's my favorite PS3 game too.
Message | Report
View all