By using this site, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our Terms of Use. Close
×

America - Front

America - Back

Review Scores

VGChartz Score
9.1
                         

Ratings

     

Alternative Names

Heavy Rain Kokoro no Kishimu Toki

Heavy Rain 心の軋むとき

Developer

Quantic Dream

Genre

Adventure

Other Versions

PS4, All

Release Dates

02/23/10 Sony Computer Entertainment
02/18/10 Sony Computer Entertainment
02/26/10 Sony Computer Entertainment

Community Stats

Owners: 770
Favorite: 122
Tracked: 36
Wishlist: 96
Now Playing: 34
 
8.8

Avg Community Rating:

 


Dexorosorous

User Score
8.5
                         

Presentation - 9.5
Gameplay - 8.0
Value - 8.0
For a long time now I have wished for a game that would have a different feel to it than your average TPS/FPS adventure games. I'm so glad to tell you guys that Heavy Rain has fulfilled MY expectatio

For a long time now I have wished for a game that would have a different feel to it than your average TPS/FPS adventure games. I'm so glad to tell you guys that Heavy Rain has fulfilled MY expectations, and went above and beyond that more than I could have ever imagined.

 

Putting that comment aside, I'm first going to focus on what I really liked the most about the game:

I would give a huge positive for the game's unique feel. The game feels like a gem, and it felt like no other game I have ever played in my life. (Yes, I'm talking ever since I started getting into gaming which was around SNES.)

The story was phenomenal, even though its not all that unique, the great presentation will blow your mind and i thought it was kind of familiar to the Saw movies (I only liked the first and second one btw.)

Going in to the game, not knowing what to expect of the gameplay, it surprised me of how much things you could actually do in the game and how engaging it was even though sometimes it did feel like just QTEs, it felt more than that.

The characters and dialogue was very well written for the most part.

The graphics is top-notch. Not "Wow" as Uncharted 2, but its definitely up there, especially with the character models which is the area the game pwns every other game in.

Music is great, and I would love to get my hands on the game's soundtrack!

Now you might ask me, what did I NOT like about the game?

I still haven't had a time for a second playthrough, but definitely I think replay value doesn't quite live up to expectations. After one playthrough, you probably have seen most of what the game had to offer and the consecutive playthrough will just appear more for the people that are obsessed/loves the story.

Some graphics and framerate issues, and noticeable slow downs and pop-ins. These does NOT bother you with the gameplay, and i repeat it WILL NOT bother you at all. But it does stand out if you're looking at it very meticulously, like me.

 

To conclude,

Heavy Rain is one of those games that you just have to see in action to appreciate its beauty. Watching it from videos from youtube, or screenshots doesn't do the game justice. The game takes patience, and people who are patient and love these psychological thriller type of stories will flock in and have one of the most memorable gaming of their lives. For the impatient type, there's not that much for you here, but I would still recommend seeing your patient friend play it, because trust me, you will be drawn to its story nonetheless. The game does a successful jobs getting certain emotions from the player ranging from happiness to sad to just plain scared for my life. Is it overhyped? Not a chance, because to me, it did great on the areas the game wanted to deliver.

GRAPHICS: 9.2

PRESENTATION: 9.5

GAMEPLAY: 8

REPLAYABILITY: 7

STORY: 8.5

OVERALL: 8.7


Shipping Total

3,000,000 Units
As of: August 2013

Opinion (430)

Mr Puggsly posted 04/01/2019, 06:52
Jason!
Message | Report
thewastedyouth posted 15/04/2014, 03:26
Japan sales

man wtf are they even playing in that country
Message | Report
Turkish posted 10/01/2014, 06:54
Undertracked, it passed 3 million back in august 2013. https://twitter.com/GdeFondaumiere/status/369440406808719360
Message | Report
z101 posted 24/10/2013, 02:10
A boring interactive movie with a B-Movie storyline. But it has pretty graphics, so some people bought it.
Message | Report
JustThatGamer posted 21/10/2013, 04:18
It's an okay/good interactive experience, nothing special. Impressive sales, it's under-tracked quite a bit too.
Message | Report
zumnupy10 posted 26/07/2013, 10:01
@WagnerPaiva - It's my favorite PS3 game too.
Message | Report
View all