×

America - Front

America - Back

Review Scores

Alternative Names

RockMan 2: Dr. Wily no Nazo

ロックマン2 Dr.ワイリーの謎,

Developer

Capcom

Genre

Platform

Other Versions

VC, PSN

Release Dates

07/01/89 Capcom
12/24/88 Capcom
12/14/90 Capcom

Community Stats

Owners: 186
Favorite: 17
Tracked: 2
Wishlist: 6
Now Playing: 2
 
8.7

Avg Community Rating:

 

Megaman called into action once more.

14th Apr 2009 | 1,614 views 


donkeykong88

User Score
9.6
                         

Presentation - 9.5
Gameplay - 10
Value - 9.5
"A true Nes classic"

"Megaman is called into action once more, but will this journey leave us wanting more or will it become a distant memory?" Let's find out.

I have a lot of great memories from the early days of the NES, Megaman2 introduced me to the Nes and 'Gaming' itself. Mega Man 2 was one of the revolutionising games on the NES in the departments of sound, gamelplay and graphics. Megaman2 boasts 'one of the greatest soundtracks' in gaming, add to that it's stellar and diverse gameplay and you have a classic on your hands. Many will compare it to it's predecessor 'Megaman' rest assured Megaman2 surrpasses it in every department.

 

Story


The story revolves around Dr. Willy who is set out for revenge. The Story start's off with a HUGE skyscraper. We find out about Dr. Wily's last defeat in Megaman, and learn that Dr. Wily has created eight Robot's to help capture, and destroy Megaman. These robots are : Bubbleman, Quickman, Airman, Woodman, Crashman, Flashman, Heatman and Metalman. The new robot's again have their own individual weapon's and abilities, As well as costumes. This is by far a better story then the one in Megaman.

Graphics

The graphics in the game are nicely done. The colours and texture are clearly visible in this stellar presentation, and the character animate very well.

Controls

The controls are exeptional. Megaman can be controlled with ease, although there is a bit of sliding and slipping that occurs and can take some time to get used to. Everyone of the boss' weapons are unique and easy to use. Using the 'Fire Weapon' on your enemies is fun, granted it does become easy. After completing a stage you obtain a password. The password's can be used at a later period in the game to progress, it's your save game. 

Replay Value

Having played the game on many occasions, the game never gets old. The difficulty levels adds a bit of a challenge and there are many different ways of beating the game.

Nostalgia Value

Any gamer that has played 'Megaman2' in the past will tell you the nostalgia value of megaman2 is unprecedented. The intro itself will remind you of the 'Great times'. There are many great soundtracks to be found in the game, each have their own nostalgia value.

Length

The single player campaign can take up to 4 hours to complete considering the experience and the difficulty level. I remember as a kid the 'Nes' would always stop working when I was at the last stages so make sure youre Nes is working well. That in itself was very frustrating, once completing the 'eight bosses' you will than face the tough task of facing Dr. Willy advanced robots which are sure to test even the best of gamers. 

Closing Comment

I can't recommend this game enough, if you own a Nintendo Wii you owe it to yourself to try this game out. As gamers we all have a game we look back on with fond memories that game for me is 'Megaman2'. This games defines the Nes era, and it would be a crime if you haven't experienced of the greatest games of all time.


Shipping Total

1,510,000 Units
As of: September 30th, 2018

Opinion (10)

DarkRPGamer007 posted 05/01/2015, 12:21
Terrible box art, wonderful game! Glad the Virtual Console on 3DS doesn't show the box art lol
Message | Report
spurgeonryan posted 05/10/2011, 09:23
Still is fun!
Message | Report
spurgeonryan posted 19/09/2011, 06:52
I played over 500 nintendo games during my last deployment on an emulator, still have them somewhere! This was fun
Message | Report
haxxiy posted 16/10/2009, 05:39
Who said one of Capcom's most iconic characters was a random guy wrapped in blue bearing a pistol? At least the game survives its boxart.
Message | Report
joey123 posted 16/08/2009, 06:57
great game. it got pretty hard towards the end. but its still great. i like 3 better because its a little more balanced.
Message | Report
dillhole posted 16/03/2009, 09:38
UK game art is OK, it doesn't look like Mega Man so much but it's well drawn. Same with the original. I don't know how they managed to mess it up so much elsewhere.
Message | Report
View all