By using this site, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our Terms of Use. Close
×

America - Front

America - Back

Review Scores

Ratings

     

Alternative Names

Resistance: Houfuku no Koku

レジスタンス ~報復の刻~

Developer

SCEA Bend Studio

Genre

Shooter

Other Versions

PSN

Release Dates

03/17/09 Sony Computer Entertainment
03/12/09 Sony Computer Entertainment
03/20/09 Sony Computer Entertainment

Community Stats

Owners: 158
Favorite: 6
Tracked: 3
Wishlist: 11
Now Playing: 3
 
8

Avg Community Rating:

 

It's too bad this wasn't a PS3 game

11th Feb 2010 | 1,632 views 


drakesfortune

User Score
7.6
                         

Presentation - 9.5
Gameplay - 7.0
Value - 9.0
Resistance Retribution is a good game that goes on a bit too long, and at times asks a lot of you given the difficult aiming controls.

 

Resistance Retribution is about as good a third person shooter as you can do on the PSP with one analog stick.  That's not to say it's great, because these games inherently require a second analog stick for aiming/camera.  Still, they did an admirable job, given the controls.

The story is fairly well done and is interesting enough to keep you wondering what will happen next.  The main character is not that likeable, though I imagine they thought he would be.  He's a wise cracking, arrogant, hero type who cares about nothing but revenge.  You know, the guy in 99% of games.  He's not terribly interesting, but not terrible either. 


The weapon variety is probably the game's strong suit, and why I've rated it so highly.  The weapons are interesting, and many are fun to use.  It makes what is an average corridor shooter, into a slightly above average corridor shooter.  Though there are a couple weapons, like the sniper rifle, that are pretty much useless because you don't have a second stick, and even from far distances your enemies will tear you to pieces if you're not in cover.  So if you like sniping, this game will not satisfy you.  The sniper rifle is by far the most useless and pointless thing in the game.  In fact, they should have just left it off. 

Retribution is also one of the best looking PSP games out there.  In fact, I thought it looked about as good as God of War CoO, but with no screen tearing, which bumps it over CoO in my book.  There are times in the game where I was genuinely surprised the PSP was able to produce such good visuals.

My main problem with some of their design choices stems from the fact that the controls don't lend themselves well to precise aiming.  Most of the time there is a heavy amount of auto-aiming going on.  At times though, there are creatures that require head-shots that slowly meander towards you and when they reach you their heads explode dealing a lot of damage.  To kill these guys, you have to push up on the d pad to enter into a zoomed in aiming mode, and then aim using the square, circle, triangle, and x buttons like they are the second analog stick.  This does not work well, and nearly every time these enemies come out when you aren't expecting it, you can expect to die as you fumble around with the d pad etc...

The other problem I have with this game is that you die...a lot.  There's too much trial and error in this game.  Often you come across a set of enemies and you have to just learn the pattern in which they attack, and you do this by dying.  Once you know the pattern, it's easy.  As a result, you never feel like the bad ass that you're supposed to be.  Dying a lot makes you feel the opposite.  I felt like a big talking wimp that gets my butt kicked in most of the time.

The last complaint I have is that the game goes on about an hour to two hours longer than it should.  Some people might see that as a strength, but I was ready for the end when it came!

Still, this is a novel game on the PSP, and the interesting assortment of weapons makes it a fun game.  This game is exactly why I hope the PSP2 has a second analog stick.  This game would have been a 9 if I had had a second stick.


Sales History

Total Sales
0.05m
Japan
0.27m
NA
0.36m
Europe
0.22m
Others
0.90m
Total
1 15,412 n/a n/a 15,412
2 7,410 26,492 n/a 5,061 38,963
3 4,068 13,235 11,411 8,852 37,566
4 2,958 9,484 8,265 6,392 27,099
5 2,317 8,027 6,418 5,089 21,851
6 1,753 6,621 5,451 4,282 18,107
7 1,545 6,096 4,959 3,909 16,509
8 1,433 5,291 4,695 3,611 15,030
9 1,285 4,699 4,495 3,386 13,865
10 1,226 4,373 4,328 3,232 13,159

Opinion (114)

Mr Puggsly posted 22/04/2014, 11:49
After a couple years of picking away at this, I finally beat it. The difficulty was frustrating at some spots and that actually made the game less enjoyable... but an over all pretty good game.
Message | Report
hunter_alien posted 24/09/2011, 03:29
Good sales. With the DL version I could see this pushin a million LT, which is a big improvement over Sony Bends Syphonfilter sales
Message | Report
Turkish posted 19/06/2011, 12:36
A very nice game, hope they release an HD version on the PS3 with full dualshock 3 support!
Message | Report
Galvanizer posted 20/05/2011, 08:01
I enjoyed this. It's 8/10 in my book.
Message | Report
-girgosz- posted 23/05/2010, 03:34
Good legs.
Message | Report
TC_Squared posted 11/04/2010, 08:41
I had more fun playing this one than the PS3 Resistance.
Message | Report
View all