By using this site, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our Terms of Use. Close
×

America - Front

America - Back

Review Scores

VGChartz Score
8.5
                         

Ratings

     

Alternative Names

Resistance: Jinrui Botsuraku no Hi

レジスタンス 人類没落の日

Developer

Insomniac Games

Genre

Shooter

Release Dates

11/14/06 Sony Computer Entertainment
11/11/06 Sony Computer Entertainment
03/23/07 Sony Computer Entertainment

Community Stats

Owners: 1,193
Favorite: 40
Tracked: 7
Wishlist: 13
Now Playing: 5
 
8.2

Avg Community Rating:

 

Resistance : Fall of Man Review by MGS_4ever

14th Apr 2009 | 1,710 views 


MetalGearSolid_4ever

User Score
8.5
                         

Presentation - 8.0
Gameplay - 9.0
Value - 8.0
Resistance is futile !

Resistance : Fall of Man was probably the only "must own" PS3 game at the launch of the console in 2006. Insomniac Games, who are renown for their cute, fun platformers, switch to a dark, gritty FPS game.

The Story

The story in Resistance isn't its strongest aspect.It is set in the middle of the 2oth century where WWII never happened. The chimeran virus which originated in Russia, spreads all through Europe and the Chimera take over the continent within a few months. A USA fleet is sent to England, but they know nothing of their foe.

Nathan Hale is a soldier of the United States who is sent to England. Nathan's men are massacred and are infected by the virus. However, Nathan wakes up after being infected and he is the only person who has ever done so. It is clear that is immune to the virus, and resists transforming into a chimera (hence the title).The story is presented in cutscenes and black and white drawings which makes me think that this was rushed to be released in time of the console launch.

The Graphics and Audio

The graphics are pretty good for a launch title. If you are picking this up now, it may seem bad at first, but it gets much better later on. The character models are average and the guns are uniquely depicted. Textures are not bad for a launch title, but could be better. Framerate is pretty consistent.However it seems to have a dull, grey-brown colour pallete.

The audio is pretty average. The soundtrack doesn't impress me much.

The Gameplay

Gameplay is definitely the strongest part of Resistance. You get a wide range of guns which you can carry throughout the game. It is not another generic FPS. The unique guns make the gameplay very interesting. All guns have a secondary fire button L1 which do unique things.The Auger can shoot through walls, and alternate fire makes a shield between you and the enemy. Only Auger fire, yours or the enemies, can penetrate this shield. The Bullseye allows you to tag your enemies and shoot them from behind cover. The sniper rifle momentarily slows down time. The Hailstorm bullets bounce off objects. Air fuel grenades can incenarate entire rooms full of enemies. Everything is crazy and so much fun. What did you expect from the guys who made Ratchet and Clank ? There are vehicle sections too.

You can play the entire campaign in split screen co-op. 40 player multiplayer is a blast, especially with those crazy weapons. However, people playing this now are experts at it.Modes such as deathmatch, team deatmatch, capture the flag, meltdown and conversion will keep you hooked.

Overall

This game is definitely worth purchasing, especially as it is budget priced now. Although it feels rushed, its the beginning of the Resistance franchise, and needs to be played to get a better understanding of Resistance 2's storyline. Be sure to RESIST !

 

 

 

 


Shipping Total

2,121,770 Units
As of: September 30th, 2007

Opinion (250)

nugget posted 28/12/2014, 04:34
I'm still dying to play this game. Somebody give me a deal on a PS3!
Message | Report
thewastedyouth posted 28/02/2014, 04:21
I love this game, it is waaaay better than the second and third games

the graphics are not that good but it is very hard compared to the others

(live 10 minutes from the Insomniac offices
Message | Report
Mario_pana posted 12/12/2012, 06:41
At least Resistance Fall of Man is still the best selling luanch title even tho it was bundled too much.
Message | Report
Propaganda posted 18/02/2012, 12:11
Still think this Resistance had the most interesting cover. Resistance 3 is the best in the series though, but if i didn't know of Resistance and decided to buy me another pick up and play FPS i could've overlooked Resistance 3 cause of the pretty empty cover... Which is a shame cause the game is amazing.
Message | Report
chidori-chan2 posted 31/12/2011, 04:39
4 milions, 3 millions of this sales is bundles lololol
Message | Report
dsage01 posted 28/12/2011, 01:57
Resistance 3 was amazing. Sad it can't sell like this
Message | Report
View all