Quantcast
Brothers in Arms: Double Time for Wii
×

America - Front

America - Back

Review Scores

VGChartz Score
3.2
                         

Ratings

   

Developer

Gearbox Software

Genre

Shooter

Release Dates

09/23/08 Ubisoft
(Add Date)
09/26/08 Ubisoft

Community Stats

Owners: 8
Favorite: 0
Tracked: 0
Wishlist: 1
Now Playing: 0
 
8

Avg Community Rating:

 

A solid game hampered by technical problems

10th Jul 2009 | 1,158 views 


Monteblanco

User Score
7.0
                         

Presentation - 5.0
Gameplay - 7.0
Value - 8.0
Despite technical problems, Brother in Arms: Double Time is a solid title for what it is: a budget priced package including two ports of old games.

First of all, lets get things straight. This is a lazy port of two Playstation 2 games and, as such, graphics are much below Wii's standards. It is not that bad in terms of textures and polygons, as this was a good looking PS2, but framerate take a hit quite often. Additionally, the AI is workable at best. Your squad members and enemy soliders will positioning badly from time to time but it is never too bad. 

 

That said, the gameplay is pretty solid. Unlike most first person shooters, Brothers in Arms take the side of realism. No regenerating health and very unreliable aiming at distance. There is a strong emphasis in realistic small team combat tactics. You're suposed to divide your men in teams, each one with different objectives, usually suppressing fire and flanking. 

 

The game also keeps in the side of history. Most, if not all, scenarios are based in real engagements and, despite some unavoidable repetitiveness, they work well providing challenge. Extras include real documents from the battle reports and a extensive catalogue of photographs, not only from the historical archive but also from a recent visit to the actual area during pre-production research for the game.

 

Voice over is much above average in videogames and do work in creating an emotional link to characters. The soundtrack is actually good, although it is blend to the background most of time. Sound effects are well done but I thought they could be better mixed into the game. 

 

Controls are serviceable but not quite as good as Metroid Prime and other comparable first person shooters for the Wii. Grenade throwing is particullary bad and, as there are few customization options, I'll have to live with the presets. 

 

Despite the limitations, Brothers in Arms: Double Time is a worthy game, especially considering its budget price. It does offer a different perspective from most shooters that might interest those looking for a more accurate depiction of World War II or for simulation of real squad tactics.


Sales History

Total Sales
0.00m
Japan
0.11m
NA
0.00m
Europe
0.01m
Others
0.13m
Total
1 n/a 3,007 n/a 531 3,538
2 n/a 1,416 n/a 250 1,666
3 n/a 1,156 n/a 204 1,360
4 n/a 1,007 n/a 178 1,185
5 n/a 861 n/a 152 1,013
6 n/a 1,189 n/a 210 1,399
7 n/a 1,281 n/a 226 1,507
8 n/a 1,543 n/a 272 1,815
9 n/a 2,009 n/a 355 2,364
10 n/a 3,840 n/a 678 4,518

Opinion (12)

spurgeonryan posted 27/11/2010, 05:06
needs online or its just a 10 dollar buy now. Maybe back then was different.
Message | Report
Hardcoregamer1989 posted 09/08/2009, 01:40
you wont like it lol, i know i didn't
Message | Report
intro94 posted 24/05/2009, 01:11
naiyo why you didnt get cod waw or even Medal of honor which are 1000 times better and have online?
Message | Report
naiyo posted 03/04/2009, 06:37
I just got the game for $20 and i'm having a ball. The game could be a hell of a lot better but its fun and thats all you can get out of Wii games. So, if you want to have fun with a FPS and cheap, give it a try. Its something to do before the Conduit.
Message | Report
Myviewing posted 09/01/2009, 12:18
Anybody know if it's really all that unplayable?
Message | Report
arsenal009 posted 12/11/2008, 10:15
@trestres
This is a port, i don't think it took much to develop, not sure they would need to sell too much to break-even.

As for Ubicrap games bombing recently:
Far Cry 2
Imagine: Teacher
Petz: Dogz Fashion
My Weight Loss Coach
Brothers in Arms: Hell's Highway
Puzzler Collection
Sports Party
My Fashion Studio

have all done well.

Granted games like Haze & Tom Clancy's EndWar have bombed, but a lot have made profit.
Message | Report
View all